This is the "Using SFPL" page of the "SF Public Library Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
San Francisco State University

SF Public Library Resources  

The Leonard Library is a treasure trove, and so is San Francisco's Public Library. Here are SFPL sources recommended for specialized research and beyond....
Last Updated: May 23, 2014 URL: http://libguides.sfsu.edu/sfpl Print Guide RSS Updates

Using SFPL Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

1. Start at www.library.sfsu.edu.

www.library.sfsu.edu

SF State's Leonard Library supports the University community and includes collections that support course curricula. 

SFSU (Leonard Library) is good for:

  • Books and ebooks published by university presses and academic sources. 
  • Specialized sources in academic disciplines, such as databases for scholarly journal articles. 
  • Help with projects and assignments for SF State courses. 
  • Special collections and archives related to the history of SF State.

Get an SF Public Library Card

Any California resident can get an SF Public Library card, which includes access to online resources such as databases, ebooks and audiobooks from anywhere online. 

 

Link+ = SFPL <--> SFSU

Both SF State's Libray and SF Public LIbrary are members of Link+, which means that patrons from either library can borrow books from many different libraries and get books delivered to a convenient library location!

 

2. Use sfpl.org for supplementary collections and lifelong learning.

www.sfpl.org

SFPL is dedicated to free and equal access to information, knowledge, independent learning and the joys of reading for our diverse community.

SFPL (public library) is good for:

  • Popular books and current hits such as New York Times bestsellers. 
  • CD's, DVD's, software, and media that you want to bring home to use. 
  • Streamed audio books and ebooks to use for pleasure. 
  • Children's books and family events such as Storytime. 
  • Business directories (access online). 
  • Local government information and legal resources. 
  • Local history collections, including those celebrating particular SF communities and the history of the city.

San Francisco Library Branches Near YOU!

SFPL Merced Branch

  • Merced Branch
    NEAREST to SFSU Main campus, Merced Branch of the SFPL is at 155 Winston Drive (at 19th Avenue), directly across from the Stonestown shopping center. It is a short walk from the 19th and Holloway entrance to campus, and is serviced by the Muni trains and buses that run along 19th.
  • Main Library
    Located 100 Larkin St. just a few blocks and one muni stop away from the Downtown Campus, the Main Library includes local history, government and special collections.
  • Google Map of SFPL Library Branches
    Find a branch in your school, work or home neighborhood!
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip