Welcome!
Welcome to the Popular Music LibGuide, your library portal to a wealth of information about rock, jazz, hip hop, country, and other popular music styles. If you don't see your music style or subject here, check the following other guides:
This LibGuide is a work in progress, and I'm always on the lookout for new resources. If you have suggestions for books, journals, internet sources, or other research materials, or have ideas for improving the LibGuide experience, please email me (jvasche [at] sfsu.edu) and let me know!
Writing about Music - Guides
- Writing About Music Online Guide
- Citing References LibGuide (SFSU)
- Citing Music Online Guide
- How to write about music : the RILM manual of style / James R. Cowdery, editor; foreword by Carl Skoggard, introduction by Barbara Dobbs Mackenzie.
- Irvine's writing about music / by Demar Irvine ; Reinhard G. Pauly, general editor
- Music in words : a guide to researching and writing about music / Trevor Herbert
Liner Notes - Sources
Liner notes can be a very useful resource in your music research. Often filled with performance notes, historical background, and notes on performers and composers.
- DRAM SFSU does not subscribe to the streaming audio portion of this database because we subscribe to Music Online. However, the online liner notes and essays are an excellent resource for researching composer and performer information.
- Liner Notes at Classical Net
- Music Online
Search and Citation Tools
LibX is a FireFox (web browser) plug-in that allows you to search for items in ourLibrary collections from any web page. It allows you to search for books, articles, and other kinds of research resources in InvestiGator, Google Scholar, WorldCat and elsewhere right from the webpage where you found it (like Amazon, Google and Yahoo, Worldcat, etc.).
Zotero is a FireFox (web browser) plug-in that allows you to collect, manage, and cite your research sources. It lives right where you do your work — in the web browser itself.
Popular Music Databases and Research Tools
Go here for the list of databases suggested for Popular Music. Notice that there are also subcategories for Classical Music, Music Education, and World Music.
- Academic Search CompleteAcademic Search Premier, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,650 serials, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications.
- Alt_Press WatchAlt-PressWatch provides a valuable new source of coverage, viewpoints and perspectives to complement and challenge the coverage of the mainstream media and serves a broad spectrum of subject areas including the arts.
- Encyclopedia of Popular MusicPart of the Oxford Publishing family who has brought us Groves Online for many years. This is an addition to our database subscription.
- Google Scholar Provides a simple way to do a broad search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles.
- JSTORContains the full text of over 169 journals available from JSTOR. This collection provides fulltext access to backfiles of primary journals in several scholary disciplines; it does not include the most recent two or three years.
- Music Index OnlineTopics concerned with every aspect of the classical and popular world of music are carefully categorized and organized according to the framework of an internal Subject List. A broad range of subjects are indexed.
- Readers Guide RetrospectiveReader's Guide Retrospective provides citations to articles from general interest magazines published from 1890-1982.
- Smithsonian Global SoundThe collection provides educators, students, and interested listeners with an unprecedented variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms.
More Popular Music Resources on the WWW
Subject Guide |
Research Fellowships
-
Thursday, Apr 21, 2011 to Monday, Dec 31, 2012: Research Fellowships at Rock and Roll Hall of Fame
The Rock and Popular Music Institute at Case Western Reserve University, in partnership with the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum and Cuyahoga Community College, announces the availability of research fellowships.
Music Industry Salaries
This salary document was prepared by Berklee College of Music Career Development Center.



Special thanks to former music librarian Laura Moody for her original
creation and contributions to this guide. She is now a librarian at the
Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. Follow her on
Loading...
