Research Assignment
Write a research paper of fifteen pages (a maximum of 4,000 words) analyzing one of the following in contemporary India (twentieth century, preferable post-independence):
- a political leader
- a political party
- a political interest group or association
- analysis of a significant political or economic issue.
- analysis of a significant political event or phenomenon
Comments (0)
Selected Journals
- Economic and political weeklyPublished out of Bombay and available online.
- India ReviewScholarly journal on Indian politics
- Journal of Asian StudiesSocial science scholarly journal from Cambridge University Press.
Workshop Materials
Suggested Databases for Indian Studies
- Bibliography of Asian StudiesScholarly articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia since 1971, indexed by the Association of Asian Studies
- Index IslamicusAcademic publications on Islam and the Muslim world
Library Databases
Country briefings, analysis, and translated news can be found in these library databases.
- Countrywatch Report on IndiaClick here to the full encyclopedia report
- EIU ViewswireAnalysis from the Economist Intelligence Unit
- FBIS: Foreign Broadcast Information ServiceUseful for topics from 1974-1976
- LexisNexis Academic
- OxResearchResearch and analysis from the Oxford Analytica Group
Library Databases for Scholarly Analysis
This is a greatly condensed list of library databases to use for your research. Use the database suggestions for Political Science on the Finding Articles & Databases page for more suggestions.
- Academic Search CompleteLimit search results to scholarly sources.
- JSTORtop scholarly sources, limit results to Asian Studies and Political Science publications.
- Worldwide Political Science AbstractsSearch for citations with links to find the full text.
Mira Foster |
![]() Contact Info Senior Assistant Librarian J. Paul Leonard Library San Francisco State University mira@sfsu.edu 1630 Holloway, 321H San Francisco, CA 94132 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides Office Hours: Mon-Thurs 9-5pm |





Loading...
