- Albert Einstein Online
This award-winning site provides links to information on the life and work of Albert Einstein and is divided into the following subsections: moments, physics, writings, quotes, pictures, miscellaneous, and announcements.
- American Institute of Physics
- American Nuclear Society
- American Physical Society
- CERN Document Server
CERN, the European Organization for Nuclear Research, maintains this site. It is a bibliographic database that will be of interest to people working in particle physics and related areas. It includes citations to preprints, articles, books, journals, photographs, and much more. A large percentage of the material cited is available in full-text.
- ComPADRE.org: Resources for Physics and Astronomy Education
This website is part of the National Science Digital Library and is " network of free online resource collections supporting faculty, students, and teachers in Physics and Astronomy Education." The site includes a link to Physics To Go, an "online monthly mini-magazine and a collection of more than 900 websites of images, activities, and info."
- Contributions of 20th Century Women to Physics
At this site the descriptions of the contributions 83 women have made to science. women whose primary contributions were made post 1976 have not been included. The site includes reference database of over 500 books and articles in which these 83 women have been written about.
- Einstein Archives Online
This site provides "online access to Albert Einstein’s scientific and non-scientific manuscripts held by the Albert Einstein Archives at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem and to an extensive Archival Database."
- Eric Weisstein's World of Physics
This site is an alphabetical index created by Eric Weisstein of physics definitions, derivations, equations, formulas, and figures.
- Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory (FNAL)
Fermilab is "America's particle physics and accelerator laboratory." Its vision is to " to solve the mysteries of matter, energy, space and time. Their mission is to "drive discovery by: building and operating world-leading accelerator and detector facilities; performing pioneering research with national and global partners; and developing new technologies for science that support U.S. industrial competitiveness."
- Hands on CERN: English version
This award-winning site is "aimed at teachers and high school students studying natural sciences. The purpose of this project/course is to increase understanding of the most fundamental processes inside matter, and to explain modern research about particle collisions."
- How EveryThing Works
This site attempts to explain the "physics of everyday life."
- Inspire: the High-Energy Physics Literature Database
This database contains over a half million citations to high-energy and astroparticle physics related articles, including journal papers, preprints, e-prints, technical reports, conference papers and theses. The database provides citation tracking of an article through its life as an e-print through publication as a journal article. It is a joint project of the Stanford Linear Accelerator Center (SLAC), Deutsches Elektronen Synchrotron (DESY), the Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory and CERN, the European Organization for Nuclear Research.
- Institute of Physics
This professional society for physicists is based in London. Their Physics in Society team are the sponsors of Physics.org: a Guide to Physics on the Web (see entry for this site for more information)
- Max Planck Institute for Gravitational Physics
Research at this Institute, also known as the Albert Einstein Institute is aimed at investigating Einstein’s relativity and beyond: mathematics, quantum gravity, astrophysical relativity, gravitational wave astronomy, data analysis and cosmology." The resources provided by this Institute include: Living Reviews, which is a web-based, peer-reviewed journal, and Einstein Online, which is a presentation of Einstein's theories of relativity.
- National Nuclear Data Center (NNDC) Databases
Five nuclear structure and decay databases, four nuclear reaction databases, and two bibliographic databases may be accessed from this site.
- NIST Physical Measurement Laboratory
Links to the online databases maintained by the Physical Measurement Laboratory may be found here. The databases include data on fundamental physical constants, atomic and molecular spectroscopy, ionization cross sections, absorption of x-rays and gamma rays, radiation dosimetry, half-life measurements, atomic weights, and condensed matter physics.
- Nova's Physics Blog: the Nature of Reality
At this website the "physics of nothing, everything, and all the things in between" is discussed and is organized into the following six themes: gravity, particle physics, quantum physics, the cosmos, thought experiments, and unification."
- Optical Society of America
- Particle Adventure: the Fundamentals of Matter and Force
This award-winning site is an "interactive tour of quarks, neutrinos, antimatter, extra dimensions, dark matter, accelerators and particle detectors from the Particle Data Group of Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory."
- Physics Central
This site sponsored by the American Physical Society. With PhysicsCentral, this society shares "the excitement and importance of physics to everyone." They invite you to visit their site every week to "find out how physics is part of your world." They will "answer your questions on how things work and keep you informed with daily updates on physics in the news." In addition, they "describe the latest research and the people who are doing it and, if you want more, where to go on the web."
- Physics.org: a Guide to Physics on the Web
The Institute of Physics' Physics in Society team are the sponsors of this site. They aim "to be your guide and show you the best physics places on the web."
- PhysLink.com: Physics and Astronomy Online Portal
This award-winning site is a "comprehensive physics and astronomy online education, research and reference web site."
- SciTech Connect
SciTech Connect was launched in 2013 and "contains all the full-text documents and citations previously found in Information Bridge and Energy Citations Database. Thus, SciTech Connect contains over sixty-five years of energy-related citations created and/or collected by OSTI. There are over 2.5 million citations, including citations to 1.4 million journal articles, 364,000 of which have digital object identifiers (DOIs) linking to full-text articles on publishers’ websites. SciTech Connect also has over 313,000 full-text DOE sponsored STI reports; most of these are post-1991, but close to 85,000 of the reports were published prior to 1990. SciTech Connect includes technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia, and data information sponsored by DOE through a grant, contract, cooperative agreement, or similar type of funding mechanism from the 1940s to today."
- Stanford Linear Accelerator Center (SLAC)
SLAC is one of ten national laboratories under the stewardship of the U.S. Department of Energy. Its mission is to "grow into a premier photon science laboratory" and maintain its "position as the premier accelerator laboratory." It is the home of to a two-mile linear accelerator—the longest in the world.
- Thermodynamics Research Laboratory
This laboratory is located at the University of Illinois Chicago. This laboratory maintains a list of Nano, Quantum & Statistical Mechanics & Thermodynamics Data & Property Calculation Websites; as well as a list of interesting web sites.
- Virtual Library: Physics
"The VL is the oldest catalog of the web." "It is run by a loose confederation of volunteers, who compile pages of key links for particular areas in which they are expert." The Physics section is divided by the various sub-disciplines of physics; e.g., acoustics, beam physics, laser physics, nuclear physics, and optical science and engineering.