Last Updated: Jun 2, 2015
The following bibliography is a selective guide to information sources for the Mechanical Engineering discipline available from SF State's J. Paul Leonard Library. To view the entire research guide, simply click on the Mechanical Engineering Research Guide link below. The lists of recommended online reference books, recommended databases and selected Internet sites are duplicated following that link.
- Mechanical Engineer's Pocket Book. By Roger Timings
The third edition of this handbook was published by Elsevier/Newnes in 2006. This handbook "is a comprehensive collection of data for mechanical engineers and students of mechanical engineering. Bringing together the data and information that is required to-hand when designing, making or repairing mechanical devices and systems, it has been revised to keep pace with changes in technology and standards." The emphasis for this edition has changed from being an "engineering manufacturing driven pocket book" to being an "engineering design driven pocket book."
- Mechcnical Engineer's Handbook. Edited by Dan B. Marghitu
This handbook was published by Academic Press in 2001. It "contains the fundamental laws and theories of science basic to mechanical engineering including controls and mathematics."
As you search through a database, develop a list of relevant citations. Click on the yellow "Check for Full Text" icon that can be found with each citation. A new window will pop up and will tell you whether or not you can obtain a copy of the article from the Library (either electronically or in print). If this library does not subscribe to a periodical you need, it may be possible to obtain a photocopy of the article through our Document Delivery Service. For more information, consult the Document Delivery Service’s page on "Requesting Items from Other Libraries" (http://www.library.sfsu.edu/services/requesting/).
- Applied Science & Technology Abstracts, 1913-date
Indexes the core physical and applied science (including engineering) scholarly journals.
- Engineering Village 2
This site provides access to the Compendex database.
- Web of Science Core Collection, 1900-date
This is one of the Web of Science databases. To access this database, type in the words "Web of Science" in the Search for Database Name box. You will get one result. Click on that link. You are now at the home page for all of the Web of Science databases. You now need to use the All Databases pulldown menu, and select Web of Science Core Collection. This database indexes scholarly journals in all disciplines. You may also conduct cited reference searches (that is, search for articles that cite a specific author or article) by changing the pulldown next to the words Basic Search to Cited Reference Search.
- American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air Conditioning Engineers
- American Society of Mechanical Engineers
- dmoz: Open Directory Project: Mechanical Engineering
This site says they are the "largest, most comprehensive human-edited directory of the Web."
This site says that they are "a specialty web portal designed to serve as a one-stop web information resource for anyone working in the areas of flow engineering, fluid mechanics research, education and directly related topics."
- eFunda: Engineering Fundamentals
"eFunda stands for engineering Fundamentals. Its mission is to create an online destination for the engineering community, where working professionals can quickly find concise and reliable information to meet the majority of their daily reference needs."
This site states that it is "The world's most-visited engineering job site."
- Frank Potter's Science Gems: Engineering
Frank provides links to sites relevant to for students, teachers, scientists, and engineers. They are arranged by category, subcategory, and grade level.
- Galaxy: Mechanical Engineering
This site says it is "The Web's Original Searchable Directory."
This site "has been designed to be the perfect starting page for a mechanical engineer."
- MatWeb: Material Property Data
This site contains datasheets on "thermoplastic and thermoset polymers such as ABS, nylon, polycarbonate, polyester, polyethylene and polypropylene; metals such as aluminum, cobalt, copper, lead, magnesium, nickel, steel, superalloys, titanium and zinc alloys; ceramics; plus semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials. Information on over 100,000 materials in included.
- Mechanical Design Resources
A partial list of the categories of links provided at this site includes: Materials, Components, Design Information, Patents, Publications, Engineering Sites, Safety, Finite Element, and Machine Shop.
- Online Ethics Center at the National Academy of Engineering
This center supports activities that address the "ethically significant issues that arise in engineering and scientific research, education, and practice. These issues arise for individual engineers and scientists as well as for social organizations and institutions." The site is an "electronic repository of resources on science, engineering, and research ethics, for engineers, scientists, scholars, educators, students, and interested citizens."
This award winning site serves as a gateway to scientific and engineering news sources.
This site is "is a free service which can help you find articles, books, the best websites, the latest industry news, job announcements, technical reports, technical data, full text eprints, the latest research, thesis & dissertations, teaching and learning resources and more, in engineering, mathematics and computing." It is sponsored by Heriot Watt University in the UK.
This website "lists products and services, directory information, brand names, and company catalogs."
Contact Caroline directly at Charnly@sfsu.edu or chat with a reference librarian below!
Chat is offline.
Library, Room 216; ext. 81454