A guide to finding scholarly research in mathematics and statistics, highlighting information sources available from SF State's J. Paul Leonard Library.
Last Updated: Apr 18, 2014
The following bibliography is a selective guide to information sources for the mathematics and statistics disciplines available from SF State's J. Paul Leonard Library. To view the entire research guide, simply click on the Mathematics & Statistics Research Guide link below. The lists of relevant online reference books, recommended databases and selected Internet sites are duplicated following that link.
- Cambridge Dictionary of Statistics. By Brian Everitt and A. Skrondal
The fourth edition of this dictionary was published by Cambridge University Press in 2010. It provides "easy access to simple, reliable definitions and explanations of modern statistical and statistics-related concepts."
- Concise Handbook of Mathematics, Physics, and Engineering Sciences. Andrei D. Polyanin and Alexei l. Chernoutsan, editors
This handbook was published by CRC Press in 2011. It takes "a practical approach to the basic notions, formulas, equations, problems, theorems, methods, and laws that most frequently occur in scientific and engineering applications and university education."
- Dictionary of Physics, Chemistry, Biology, Mathematics. By Karen Scott
This dictionary was published by Global Media in 2007.
- Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics. Neil Salking, editor
This encyclopedia was published by Sage in 2007.
- Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography. Roy Porter, consultant editor
The second edition of this biographical dictionary was published in 2005 by Helicon. It is an "authoritative and accessible guide to the lives, labors, and achievements of the men and women who have shaped the world of science."
- Origins of Mathematical Words: a Comprehensive Dictionary of Latin, Greek, and Arabic Roots. By Anthony Lo Bello.
This etymological dictionary was published by Johns Hopkins University Press in 2013. It is meant to assist in bridging the "gap between everyday language and mathematical language."
- Words of Mathematics: an Etymological Dictionary of Mathematical Terms Used in English. By Steven Schwartzman
This etymological dictionary was published by the Mathematical Association of America in 1994. It contains 1500 mathematical terms used in English. This dictionary "concentrates on where those terms came from and what their literal meanings are."
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCOHost)
Dates vary. This multi-disciplinary database is an excellent source for articles from the core mathematics journals. Click on the blue "i" icon for list of selected titles.
- ACM Digital Library
Dates vary. This database provides access to all of the journals, magazines, newsletters, and conference proceedings published by the Association for Computing Machinery.
- Applied Science & Technology Abstracts
1913- . This is a useful database to search for mathematics articles from the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM) journals as well as the core computer science, physics, and engineering journals.
- Computer Science Index
1996- . This is a useful database when researching applied mathematics topics. Both books and journals are indexed.
- Engineering Village 2
1970- . The Compendex database is available at this site. It provides comprehensive access to journals, technical reports, books, and conference proceedings in all of the engineering disciplines.
1966- . This is a useful database to search for educational documents and journal articles from education journals on topics related to mathematics education.
- IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL)
Date varies. This database contains the full-text of conference proceedings, journal articles, and standards published by the IEEE and the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET).
Generally 1988- . This interdisciplinary database includes an article ordering service (delivery is mostly by fax). The Library subsidizes orders up to $35 per article for SFSU students, faculty and staff.
Date varies. This searchable, database provides full text access to the backfiles of primary journals in a number of disciplines, including mathematics. It is particularly useful to searching for articles written prior to 1940 (not covered by MathSciNet).
- MathSciNet (Electronic version of Mathematical Reviews)
1940- . This is the most comprehensive database available of the world's mathematical literature. Journal articles, conference proceedings, and books are all included. Most entries include an evaluative review in addition to the bibliographic citation.
- Web of Science Core Collection
1900- . Indexes scholarly journals in all of the scientific disciplines.
- American Mathematical Society
- American Statistical Association
- Biographies of Women Mathematicians
This database of biographical essays on women mathematicians is maintained by Agnes Scott College in Atlanta, Georgia.
- History of Mathematics Web Sites
This site is a compilation of web sites related to the history of mathematics compiled by David Calvis at Baldwin-Wallace College.
- Math Forum
This site states that is a "leading center for mathematics and mathematics education" and is sponsored by Drexel University. "A wealth of problems and puzzles; online mentoring; research; team problem solving; collaborations; and professional development" are available.
- Mathematical Association of America
- Mathematical MacTutor
Biographies of more than 1000 mathematicians can be found at this site. A number of articles on the history of mathematics are also available. Also available at this site are chronologies, birthplace maps, mathematical quotations, and a glossary.
- Mathematics WWW Virtual Library
This site is a collection of mathematics-related resources and is maintained by the Florida State University Department of Mathematics.
This site is a collection of short biographical sketches of famous mathematics written by the mathematics faculty at Bellevue Community College for use in their classes.
- Modern History of Blacks in Mathematics
Links are provided in chronological order to biographies of prominent African American mathematicians. These web pages are created and maintained by Dr. Scott W. Williams at The Mathematics Department of The State University of New York at Buffalo.
- Nick's Mathematical Puzzles
This site is a collection of mathematical puzzles covering geometry, probability, number theory, algebra, calculus, trigonometry, and logic.
- Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics
- The Prime Pages
This site provides information on prime numbers including history, primality proving theorems, list of record primes, software, and more.
- Wolfram MathWorld: The Web's Most Extensive Mathematics Resource
This site states that it is "the Web's most extensive mathematics resource," that they have "emerged as a nexus of mathematical information in both the mathematics and educational communities," and that they serve "as a clearinghouse for new mathematical discoveries that are routinely contributed by researchers."
Contact Caroline directly at Charnly@sfsu.edu or chat with a reference librarian below!
Chat is offline.
Library, Room 216; ext. 81454