A selective guide to information sources in the J. Paul Leonard Library
Last Updated: May 22, 2014
The following bibliography is a selective guide to information sources on interior design topics available from SF State's J. Paul Leonard Library. To view the entire research guide, simply click on the Interior Design Research Guide link below. The lists of relevant online reference books, recommended databases, and selected Internet sites are duplicated following that link.
- Academic Search Complete
Dates vary. This is a multi-disciplinary database. It is an excellent resource for identifying articles from important interior design publications such as: Architectural Digest, Design Quarterly, Interior Design, and Lighting Research & Technology. Be sure to check the scholarly (peer reviewed) journals box in the Limit section in order to eliminate the popular magazine articles from your search results.
- ABI/INFORM Complete
1970-. This database will be useful to students researching interior design as a business or interior designing of workspace. It contains references from 1500+ journals in business, management and related disciplines. Be sure to check the peer-reviewed journals box in the Limit section in order to eliminate the popular magazine articles from your search results.
- Art Full Text
1984 - .This database indexes more than 300 journals on art related topics. It is an excellent resource for identifying articles from important interior design publications such as: American Furniture, Architectural Digest, Design Quarterly, Interior Design, Furniture History, Interiors & Sources, Journal of Design History, Journal of Interior Design, Metropolis: Architecture Design, and World of Interiors.
- Art Index Retropsective
This database indexes articles published between 1929 and 1984 on art related topics. It is an excellent resource for finding articles published in relevant journals such as: Architectural Digest, Design Quarterly, Interior Design, Interiors, and Progressive Architecture during this time period.
- ARTbibliographies Modern
1974 - . This database indexes journal articles, exhibition catalogs, books, and dissertations on all forms of modern and contemporary art. Citations to articles from Art & Architecture Journal, Design Week, Interior Design, Journal of Design History, Journal of Interior Design, and West 86th: A Journal of Decorative Arts, Design History, and Material Culture will be found in this database.
- Bibliography of the History of Art
1973 - . Covering European and American art from late antiquity to the present, this database indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses
1861 - . This database contains information on over 2 million PhD dissertations and masters theses. The full-text is provided in many instances.
Article indexes 1887- present; Book entries 1987- present. This database indexes scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations from the psychological and behavioral sciences disciplines.
- Web of Science Core Collection
1900 - . This is one of the Web of Science databases. To access this database, type in the words "Web of Science" in the Search for Database Name box. You will get one result. Click on that link. You are now at the home page for all of the Web of Science databases. You now need to use the All Databases pulldown menu, and select Web of Science Core Collection. This database is an excellent resource for locating scholarly journal articles in from art and interior design journals. You may also conduct cited reference searches (that is, search for articles that cite a specific author or article) by changing the pulldown next to the words Basic Search to Cited Reference Search.
- American Lighting Association
- American Society of Interior Designers
- Apartment Therapy
This site's mission is to help "people make their homes more beautiful, organized and healthy by connecting them to a wealth of resources, ideas and community online."
- California Legislative Coalition for Interior Design
This group represents the entire interior design profession by "monitoring and submitting legislation and developing long-term legislative strategic plans that protect the Interior Design Profession."
- Center for Universal Design
This Center is an initiative of the College of Design at North Carolina State University. It "conducts original research to learn what design solutions are appropriate for the widest diversity of users and what tools are most useful to practitioners wishing to successfully practice universal design. The Center collaborates with builders and manufacturers on the development of new design solutions. It also develops publications and instructional materials, and provides information, referrals and technical
assistance to individuals with disabilities, families, and professionals nationwide and internationally."
- Color Marketing Group
This organization says that they are "the premier international association for color design professionals. Our mission is to create color forecast information for professionals who design and market color. We are 'the' place for color info exchange." These professionals "interpret, create, forecast and select colors in order to enhance the function, salability and quality of manufactured goods."
This site says they are "the premier site for consumer textile education and product promotion." Included at this site are the following three dictionaries: Textile Dictionary, Environmental Glossary, and Performance Fabric Glossary. Site also includes a database of Fabric-isms, which are sayings, phrases, movies, song titles and quotations containing fabric, apparel or textile terms.
- Historic American Interior Design
This is one of several sites developed by Sarah E. Mitchell Information Services. This site has sub-sections entitled Styles of Interior Design, Interiors of Specific Homes, Room Design By Use, and Interior Designers. Includes photographs.
This site is a "virtual showroom of home design ideas, pictures, and products." Includes articles and slideshows and relevant topics.
- InformeDesign: Where Research Informs Design
This site says they are "an evidence-based design tool that transforms research into an easy-to-read, easy-to-use format for architects, graphic designers, housing specialists, interior designers, landscape architects, and the public."
- Interior Design Educators Council
This is the professional organization for interior design educators in North America.
- Interior Design Link: Your Source for Everything Interior Design
This site says they are "the Largest and Most Comprehensive Interior Design Network on the Internet. Our Network serves the entire Interior Design Community...Interior Design, Interior Decorating, Custom Flooring, Custom Furniture, Custom Rugs, Custom Window Treatments, Feng Shui, Floral Design, Interior Art, Interior Lighting, Interior Painting/Exterior Painting, and Kitchen Design/Bathroom Design."
- Interiodezine.com: Free Interior Design and Decorating Education to the World
This page contains links to a network of design websites. It "has been built and written by qualified designers, decorators and architectural designers all bringing a wealth of information and experience to you for free." Some of the network sites are: Bathrooms, Bedroom Ideas, Color for Designers, Dining Rooms, Kitchens, Lighting, Living Rooms, and Modern Furniture Designers.
- International Interior Design Association
- Lighting Research Center
The Lighting Research Center (LRC) is part of the Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute located in Troy, New York. It is "the world's leading university-based research and education organization devoted to lighting - from technologies to applications and energy use, from design to health and vision."
- National Council for Interior Design Qualification
This independent, nonprofit organization is "the global leader in establishing standards of competence for interior design/interior architecture professionals."
Contact Caroline directly at Charnly@sfsu.edu or chat with a reference librarian below!
Chat is offline.
Library, Room 216; ext. 81454