MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 750 diseases and conditions. Health professionals and consumers alike can depend on it for information that is authoritative and up to date. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and a medical dictionary, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.
- Introduction page for MedlinePlusMedlinePlus will direct you to information to help answer health questions. MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations.
- A simple search and result list from MedlinePlusA search for dwarfism or Achondroplasia in the MedlinePlus database.
Lab Tests Online
The work of the clinical laboratory professional - who analyzes many things in the body including chemical indicators, the health of blood cells, and the presence of microbes and genetic markers - has long been an unseen aspect of health care. Yet, clinical lab tests often provide the link between the patient's presentation of symptoms and the doctor's diagnosis of and prescribed treatment for a particular condition or disease.
- Lab Tests Online Lab Tests Online has been designed to help you, as a patient or family caregiver, to better understand the many clinical lab tests that are part of routine care as well as diagnosis and treatment of a broad range of conditions and diseases.
- Partners in presenting Lab Tests Online Lab Tests Online is the product of a unique collaboration among professional societies representing the clinical laboratory community.
Drug Information Portal & Dietary Supplements Database
At the top of the welcome page are links to individual resources with potential drug information, including summaries tailored to various audiences. You may search by a drug’s trade name or generic name.Once a drug is found, a summary of the drug’s type and usage is given, as well as links leading to further information at one of the portal’s resources. Outside links open in a new window. Within a given drug record, you may click on the drug category and retrieve drugs with the same or similar uses.
- Drug Information Portal the Drug Information Portal covers over 12,000 drugs from the time that they are in clinical trials, through their FDA approval, and then on to the marketplace.
- Dietary Supplements Label DatabaseLooking for information onthe latest supplement? Try this database.
Genetics Home Reference
Genetics Home Reference provides consumer-friendly information about the effects of genetic variations on human health.
- Genetics Home Reference The main health topics in MedlinePlus® that have a genetic component are selected for inclusion in Genetics Home Reference. Conditions are chosen based on whether they have a known genetic basis.
PubMed
- PubMed PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 17 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s.
- NLM Pubmed TutorialThis is the entire Pubmed Tutorial based on the one-day workshop. All aspects of PubMed are covered.
- NLM Short Tutorials for various PubMed attributes* Search PubMed for an Author (3 min., June 2005)
* Searching PubMed by Author and Subject (1 min., revised December 2007)
* PubMed Simple Subject Search Example (1 min., June 2005)
* Search for a Journal (5 min, Jun
Clinical Trials
As a reminder: A clinical trial (also clinical research) is a research study in human volunteers to answer specific health questions. Interventional trials determine whether experimental treatments or new ways of using known therapies are safe and effective under controlled environments. Observational trials address health issues in large groups of people or populations in natural settings.
- Clinical TrialsClinicalTrials.gov is a registry of federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted in the United States and around the world. ClinicalTrials.gov gives you information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers.
DailyMed
Pam Howard |
Contact Pam directly at pjhoward@sfsu.edu or chat with a reference librarian below! JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable. Contact Info Senior Assistant Librarian Biology and Health Professions Subject Specialist J. Paul Leonard Library San Francisco State University 1630 Holloway Avenue San Francisco, CA 94132-4030 email:pjhoward@sfsu.edu Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |




Loading...
