A selective guide to information sources available from SF State's J. Paul Leonard Library.
Last Updated: Oct 10, 2012
The following bibliography is a selective guide to information sources for the geoscience disciplines available from SF State's J. Paul Leonard Library. To view the entire research guide, simply click on the Geosciences Research Guide link below. The lists of relevant online reference books, recommended databases, and selected Internet sites are duplicated following that link.
- Climate Change: a Reference Handbook. By David Leonard Downie
This handbook was published by ABC-CLIO in 2009. It outlines key scientific, economic, and political issues. It also reviews how the global community has addressed the issue to date, and discusses the options being explored for further action.
- Columbia Gazetteer of the World. Saul B. Cohen, editor
This encyclopedia was published by Columbia University Press in 1998. It is the "standard source of information about the geography of the world"
- Encyclopedia of Earth and Space Science. By Timothy M. Kusky
This encyclopedia was published by Facts on File in 2010. It contains 250 entries covering concepts, theories, subdisciplines, methods, techniques, important people, and other topics related to earth and space science. Examples of entries include Biosphere; Dark matter; Deserts; Earthquakes; Geophysics; Hubble; Mesozoic; North American geology; Ozone hole; Quasar; and Supernova.
- Encyclopedia of Earthquakes and Volcanoes. By Alexander E. Gates
The third edition of this encyclopedia was published by Facts on File in 2007. The approximately 1,500 entries explain the specific terms and concepts associated with the sciences of catastrophe-seismology and volcanology. Entries include terms and concepts such as: caldera, stratovolcano, S-waves, liquefaction, harmonic tremors, and much more. A chronology or earthquakes and volcanic eruptions is included as well.
- Encyclopedia of Geology. Richard C.Selley, L. Robin M. Cocks, and Ian R. Plimer, editors
This encyclopedia was published by Elsevier in 2005. It is divided into 340 articles, each covering one aspect of geology. It "covers all aspects of geology including earth history, earth materials, surface processes, regional geology, economic geology, engineering geology, petroleum geology, geochemical and mineral exploration, and the history of geology. The techniques of remote sensing and other tools of investigation that have advanced rapidly over the last few decades are described in detail."
- Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences. John H., Steele, editor in chief
This six-volume encyclopedia was published by Elsevier in 2001. Topics covered range from the study of atmospheric input of pollution to the effects of waves on beaches.
- Water Encyclopedia: Hydrologic Data and Internet Resources. Pedro Fierro, Jr. and Evan K. Nyer, editors
The third edition of this encyclopedia was published by CRC/Taylor & Francis in 2007. It "contains more than 1100 tables and 500 figures providing data related to weather, surface water, ground water, water use, water quality, waste water, pollution, and water resource management."
- Water: Science and Issues. E. Julius Dasch, editor in chief
This four-volume encyclopedia was published by Macmillan Reference USA in 2004. The encyclopedia's 300 essays are organized into 28 categories. Topics covered include: Acid rain, Beaches, Careers in oceanography, Energy from the Ocean, Ice Ages, Plate tectonics, and Waves.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCOHost)
Dates vary. This multi-disciplinary database is an excellent source for articles from the core geology journals. Click on the blue "i" icon for list of selected titles.
- Applied Science & Technology Abstracts
1913-date. This is an excellent starting point for finding articles from core journals on geologic, meteorological, or energy resources topics.
- Engineering Village 2
Site provides access to the Compendex database (1969-present) which comprehensively indexes journals, technical reports, books, and conference proceedings in all of the engineering disciplines. This is an excellent resource for engineering geology topics.
- Environmental Issues & Policy Index
1973-date. Comprehensively indexes the environmental science journal literature.
- GEOBIB Online Geographical Bibliography
1985-date. Online version of Current Geographical Publications. See blue "i" icon for more info.
1785-date. Comprehensively indexes the earth science, paleontological, and paleobiology literature. Journal
articles, books, dissertations, state and United States Geological Survey publications are all indexed.
- Oceanic Abstracts
1981-date. Topics covered include: physical oceanography, marine geology, geophysics, and geochemistry.
- Web of Science
1900- . Indexes scholarly journals in all of the scientific disciplines. Use this database to conduct cited reference searches (that is, search for articles that cite a specific author or article).
- California. Department of Connservation. California Geological Survey
- dmoz, Open Directory: Earth Sciences
This web site states that the "Open Directory Project is the largest, most comprehensive human-edited directory of the Web." The listing of Earth Sciences web sites is subdivided into the following categories: Atmospheric Sciences, Geochemistry, Geology, Geomatics, Geophysics, Natural Disasters and Hazards, Oceanography, Paleogeography and Paleroclimatology, Paleontology, Quaternary Studies, and Soils.
- Galaxy: Einet
This site contains mega-links to geosciences servers organized by the following categories: geology and geophysics; meteorology; geochemistry; and hydrology.
This search engine is for use by environmental engineers and other geotechnical professionals. The areas covered are: geotechnical, environmental, hydrogeology, geology, mining, and petroleum. Each of these areas is broken down into the following four categories: companies, associations, education, and government.
- Geologic Time: the Story of a Changing Earth
This website is produced by the National Museum of Natural History and is an interactive timeline of geological history from the Hadean eon to the present day.
- Geological Society of America
This site is a megalist of geology and earth science web sites, including a dictionary of earth science terms, a printable geologic time scale, a printable mineral identification chart, information regarding jobs and career possibilities, satellite images, and maps.
This site is a public forum for "all matters geological."
- Northern California Earthquake Data Center (NCEDC)
"NCEDC is a long-term archive and distribution center for seismological and geodetic data for Northern and Central California."
This is a bibliographic database produced by the MCEER (Multidisciplinary Center for Earthquake Engineering Research) Information Service.
- San Francisco Bay Area Regional Database
This site contains USGS Digital Data for the San Francisco Bay Area.
- U.S. Geological Survey
- U.S. National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
- USGS National Geologic Lexicon Database (GEOLEX)
GEOLEX is a search tool for lithologic and geochronologic unit names in the United States and its possessions and territories. You can search by geologic age, location, and unit name.
- Virtual Field Trip Guides
This site is maintained by the Walter Geology Library and the University of Texas and provides links to online field guides for the entire United States.
- WWW Virtual LIbrary: Earth Science
This site is a megalist of Internet sites divided into the following categories: Cartography History; Diamond and Fine Jewelry Virtual Library, Geotechnical Engineering, Oceanography, Petroleum and Geosystems Engineering, Remote Sensing, Stone Sculpture, and Urban Environmental Management.
Other libraries located in northern California that may be helpful are:
Contact Caroline directly at Charnly@sfsu.edu or chat with a reference librarian below!
Chat is offline.
Library, Room 216; ext. 81454