- American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy (AAMFT)
This organization is the professional association for the field of marriage and family therapy.
- American Association of Family & Consumer Sciences (AAFCS)
This organization's web site states that they are "the only professional association dedicated to family and consumer sciences students and professionals from both multiple practice settings and content areas."
- Child & Family WebGuide
This site was developed by faculty and librarians at Tufts University and is a directory of research-based sites that have been carefully evaluated by them. "There are five main categories of information: family/parenting, education/learning, typical child development, health/mental health, and resources/recreation. The WebGuide also offers an option of searching for sites that are especially relevant to a particular age group (Topics by Age)"
- Child Trends
This nonprofit research center studies children at all stages of development and state that they are the "nation’s only independent research and policy center focused exclusively on improving outcomes for children."
- Child Welfare Information Gateway
This website is produced by the Children's Bureau, Administration for Children and Families, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. It "promotes the safety, permanency, and well-being of children, youth, and families by connecting child welfare, adoption, and related professionals as well as the general public to information, resources, and tools covering topics on child welfare, child abuse and neglect, out-of-home care, adoption, and more."
- Children Now
This East-Bay based organization states that they are "the leading, nonpartisan, multi-issue research, policy development, and advocacy organization dedicated to promoting children's health and education in California and creating national media policies that support child development. They have conducted research and produced reports on the following topics: Health Coverage, Oral Health, The Obesity Epidemic, Health Homes, Integrated Services, Early Learning & Development, K-12 Education, Afterschool Programs, Media & Health, and Media & Education."
- Children's Defense Fund
This private, nonprofit organization was founded in 1973 by Mrs. Marian Edelman. This organization works to ensure "a level playing field for all children." They "champion policies and programs that lift children out of poverty; protect them from abuse and neglect; and ensure their access to health care, quality education and a moral and spiritual foundation." The nearly 1,000 reports foundation has prepared are available in the Research Library section of their web page.
- ChildStats.gov: Forum on Child and Family Statistics
"The Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics, or the Forum, is a working group of Federal agencies that collect, analyze, and report data on issues related to children and families. The Forum has partners from 22 Federal agencies as well as partners in private research organizations." "This website offers easy access to statistics and reports on children and families, including: family and social environment, economic circumstances, health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education and health."
CYFERnet's Web site "brings together the best, children, youth and family resources of all the public land-grant universities in the country. Materials are carefully reviewed by college and university faculty."
- Families and Work Institute
This Institute is a nonprofit center "dedicated to providing research for living in today’s changing workplace, changing family and changing community". Their work "focuses on three major areas: the workforce/workplace, youth and early childhood."
- Foundation for Child Development
The mission of this private, national foundation "is to harness the power of research to ensure that all children benefit from early learning experiences that affirm their individual, family, and community assets, fortify them against harmful consequences arising from economic instability and social exclusion, and that strengthen their developmental potential." The approximately 360 reports, etc. the foundation has prepared are available in the resources section of their web page.
- National Center on Family Homelessness
This nonprofit organization states that they are "the only national organization dedicated solely to helping homeless families." Their research focuses on "understanding homelessness and the related issues of extreme poverty, housing, services, interpersonal violence, mental health, substance abuse, and trauma."
- National Clearinghouse on Families & Youth (NCFY)
The National Clearinghouse on Families and Youth is an information resource of the Family and Youth Services Bureau (FYSB). FYSB is a bureau within the Administration on Children, Youth and Families; Administration for Children and Families; U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. "The core of FYSB’s mission is to provide quality services for runaway and homeless youth, victims of domestic and dating violence and their children, and youth at risk of adolescent/teen pregnancy and sexually transmitted infections." They maintain an online database. See the NCFY Literature Database entry for more information.
- National Coalition Against Domestic Violence (NCADV)
This organization is "devoted to the elimination of domestic violence in urban and rural areas, across all racial, religious and economic groups. NCADV identifies and works to eradicate the social conditions that perpetuate or condone domestic violence such as sexism, ageism, heterosexism, and able-bodyism and easy access to guns. " Fact sheets, position papers, a list of recommended books, and lists of other related organizations may be found at this site.
- National Council on Child Abuse & Family Violence (NCCAFV)
This organization works to "provide prevention services by bringing together community and national stakeholders, volunteers and professionals to prevent intergenerational family violence: child abuse and neglect, spouse/partner abuse, and elder abuse and neglect."
- National Council on Family Relations (NCFR)
The National Council on Family Relations (NCFR) was founded in 1938. Its mission is to "provide an educational forum for family researchers, educators, and to share in the development and dissemination of knowledge about families and family relationships, establish professional standards, and promote family well-being."
- National Marriage Project (NMP)
The National Marriage Project (NMP) is a nonpartisan, nonsectarian, and interdisciplinary initiative located at the University of Virginia. The Project’s mission is "to provide research and analysis on the health of marriage in America, to analyze the social and cultural forces shaping contemporary marriage, and to identify strategies to increase marital quality and stability." They publish a report entitled, The State of Our Unions, which monitors the current health of marriage and family life in America.
- NCFY Literature Database
The National Clearinghouse on Families & Youth maintains this database which contains abstracts of more than 20,000 publications focusing on youth and family issues.
- Voices for America's Children
This nonprofit organization says that they are "nation’s largest network of multi-issue child advocacy organizations." They have the six following policy goals: equity and diversity, health, school readiness, school success, safety, and economic stability.