Welcome!
Welcome to the Ethnomusicology LibGuide, your library portal to a wealth of information about the study of Ethnomusicology and musics of the world's cultures. If you're looking for another musical style or subject, check the following other guides:
This LibGuide is a work in progress, and I'm always on the lookout for new resources. If you have suggestions for books, journals, internet sources, or other research materials, or have ideas for improving the LibGuide experience, please email me (jvasche [at] sfsu.edu) and let me know!
Writing Guides and Research Tools
- JPLL "How To" Guides
- Citing References LibGuide (SFSU)
- Writing About Music Online Guide
- Citing Music Online Guide
- How to write about music : the RILM manual of style / James R. Cowdery, editor; foreword by Carl Skoggard, introduction by Barbara Dobbs Mackenzie.
- Irvine's writing about music / by Demar Irvine ; Reinhard G. Pauly, general editor
- Music in words : a guide to researching and writing about music / Trevor Herbert
- Writing Concert Program Notes
- LibX at JPLL
- Zotero
E-Journals and Other Online Resources
- African Musicology Online
- Analytical Approaches to World Music
- Center for World Indigenous Studies
- Diagonal: Journal of the Center for Iberian and Latin American Music
- Ethnomusicology Sources at Library of Congress
- Music & Anthropology
- Music & Politics
- Pacific Review of Ethnomusicology
- Revista Transcultural de Música
- Smithsonian Folkways Magazine
- Society for Ethnomusicology
- Songlines Magazine
- University of Washington Ethnomusicology Sites
- World Instrument Gallery
Library databases for Ethnomusicology
Here are some select databases that are particularly useful for ethnomusicology research to get you started. Go here for an alphabetical listing of all the electronic databases at the library. You can also go directly to databases by subject; depending on your research topic, databases in other disciplines (such as anthropology, ethnic studies, etc.) may also prove helpful.
Selected Print Ethnomusicology Resources at Leonard Library
- ETHNOMUSICOLOGY [Journal]Society for Ethnomusicology Publication.
- Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
- Ethnomusicology : history, definitions, and scope : a core collection of scholarly articles / edited by Kay Kaufman Shelemay.
- Ethnomusicology : a contemporary reader / edited by Jennifer C. Post.
- Shadows in the field : new perspectives for fieldwork in ethnomusicology / edited by Gregory F. Barz & Timothy J. Cooley.
- The music of the other : new challenges for ethnomusicology in a global age / Laurent Aubert ; with a foreword by Anthony Seeger ; translated by Carla Ribeiro.
- The study of ethnomusicology : thirty-one issues and concepts / Bruno Nettl.
- Thinking musically : experiencing music, expressing culture / Bonnie C. Wade.
- Postmodernism and globalization in ethnomusicology : an epistemological problem / Andy Nercessian.
- Ethnomusicology : historical and regional studies / edited by Helen Myers.
More print resources for Ethnomusicology
- Black rhythms of Peru : reviving African musical heritage in the Black Pacific / Heidi Carolyn Feldman.
- Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
- Global minstrels : voices of world music / Elijah Wald
- Hidden faces of ancient Indian song / Solveig McIntosh.
- P'ungmul : South Korean drumming and dance / Nathan Hesselink.
- Palestinian Arab music : a Maqām tradition in practice / Dalia Cohen and Ruth Katz.
- Tangos, milongas and other Latin-American dances : for solo piano / selected and with an introduction and notes by Joseph Smith.
- The Ashgate research companion to Japanese music / edited by Alison McQueen Tokita and David W. Hughes.
- The Brazilian sound : samba, bossa nova, and the popular music of Brazil / Chris McGowan and Ricardo Pessanha.
- World music : the basics / Richard O. Nidel.
- World Music-edited by Simon Broughton
Audio Resources for Ethnomusicology
These audio resources can be checked out in person at the Media Services counter in HSS 127. Check the library catalog for more ethnomusicology related audio.
- Abayudaya [sound recording] : music from the Jewish people of Uganda.
- Africa. Zimbabwe [sound recording] : the soul of mbira : traditions of the Shona people.
- Boulevard de l'indépendance [sound recording] / Toumani Diabate's Symmetric Orchestra.
- Burkina Faso [sound recording] : Savannah rhythms.
- Central America [sound recording] / [compiled by Dan Rosenberg].
- China [sound recording].
- Court gamelan [sound recording] : from the Pura Paku Alaman, Jogyakarta.
- Ethiopia [sound recording].
- Gathering of ancestors [sound recording] / Francis Wong, Elliot Humberto Kavee, John-Carlos Perea.
- Kiran Ahluwalia [sound recording].
- Konono No 1 [sound recording].
- Rough guide to world music: Africa & Middle East [sound recording].
- The jasmine isle [sound recording] : gamelan music.
- The music of Afghanistan [sound recording].
- The mystery of Sam̄'a [sound recording] / Hafez Modirzadeh, Ramin Zoufonoun.
- The reggae box [sound recording] : the routes of Jamaican music.
- Virtuoso from Afghanistan [sound recording] / Ustad Mohammad Omar.
Subject Guide |
Ethnomusicology and World Music in the SF Bay Area
Dr. Hafez Modirzadeh Creative Works
- Chromodality and the cross-cultural exchange of musical structure
- Great wall [sound recording] / Francis Wong and the Great Wall Quartet.
- In chromodal discourse [sound recording]
- Model and interpretation in Iranian classical music : the performance practice of Mahmoud Zoufonoun
- Nava-ye mardom [sound recording] ; The peoples' blues
- The mystery of Sam̄'a [sound recording]



Special thanks to former music librarian Laura Moody for her original
creation and contributions to this guide. She is now a librarian at the
Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. Follow her on
Loading...
