Last Updated: Jun 2, 2015
The following bibliography is a selective guide to information sources for the Electrical and Computer Engineering disciplines available from SF State's J. Paul Leonard Library. To view the entire research guide, simply click on the Electrical and Computer Engineering Research Guide link below. The lists of online reference books, recommended databases and selected Internet sites are duplicated following that link.
- Electrical Engineering Handbook. Wai-Kai Chen, editor-in-chief
This handbook was published by Elsevier Academic Press in 2005. The goal of this handbook is to "provide the most up-to-date information in classical fields of circuits, electronics, electromagnetics, electric power systems, and control systems, while covering the emerging fields of VLSI systems, digital systems, computer engineering, computer-aided design or optimization techniques, signal processing, digital communications, and communication networks."
- Practical Electronics Handbook. By Ian R. Sinclair and John Dunton
The 6th edition of this handbook was published by Newnes in 2007. "An essential companion to practical electronics work for enthusiasts, students and engineers."
- Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers. Edited by H. Wayne Beaty
The 15th edition of this handbook was published by McGraw-Hill in 2007.
As you search through a database, develop a list of relevant citations. Click on the yellow "Check for Full Text" icon that can be found with each citation. A new window will pop up and will tell you whether or not you can obtain a copy of the article from the Library (either electronically or in print). If this library does not subscribe to a periodical you need, it may be possible to obtain a photocopy of the article through our Document Delivery Service. For more information, consult the Document Delivery Service’s page on "Requesting Items from Other Libraries" (http://www.library.sfsu.edu/services/requesting/).
- Applied Science & Technology Abstracts, 1913-date
Indexes the core physical and applied science (including engineering) scholarly journals.
- Computer Science Index, mid-1960s to date
Indexes journal articles and books on scholarly and technical computer science topics.
- Engineering Village 2
This site provides access to the Compendex database.
- IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL), date varies
This database contains the full-text of conference proceedings, journal articles, and standards
published by the IEEE and the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET)
- MathSciNet, 1940-date
Indexes scholarly journals from the mathematics, statistics, and computer science disciplines.
- Safari Tech Books Online, date varies
This database will be most useful to computer engineering students. It contains the full-text of books on computer sciences and information technology topics published by such publishers as O'Reilly Media, Peachpit, and Microsoft Press.
- Web of Science Core Collection, 1900-date
This is one of the Web of Science databases. To access this database, type in the words "Web of Science" in the Search for Database Name box. You will get one result. Click on that link. You are now at the home page for all of the Web of Science databases. You now need to use the All Databases pulldown menu, and select Web of Science Core Collection. This database indexes scholarly journals in all disciplines. You may also conduct cited reference searches (that is, search for articles that cite a specific author or article) by changing the pulldown next to the words Basic Search to Cited Reference Search.
- Association for Computing Machinery (ACM)
- CircuitsArchive: Electronic Circuits Schematics
This site is a "Web-based free content project to list Electronic Circuits (schematics, projects, boards, PCBs)."
This site is an "evolving scientific literature digital library and search engine that has focused primarily on the literature in computer and information science."
- Collection of Computer Science Bibliographies
This site is a "collection of bibliographies of scientific literature in computer science from various sources, covering most aspects of computer science." It consists of 3 million references "(mostly to journal articles, conference papers and technical reports), clustered in about 1500 bibliographies." "More than 1 million of references contain URLs to an online version of the paper. Abstracts are available for more than 800 000 entries."
- dmoz: Open Directory Project: Technology
This site says they are the "largest, most comprehensive human-edited directory of the Web." Relevant subcategories are: Computational Engineering, Computer Science, Electrical Engineering, and Electronics.
- EE Compendium: The Home of Electronic Engineering and Embedded Systems Programming
This site states that it "is a collection of Electronics Engineering information on the World Wide Web." It grew out of an earlier site called Randy's Electronic Engineering Page.
- eFunda: Engineering Fundamentals
"eFunda stands for engineering Fundamentals. Its mission is to create an online destination for the engineering community, where working professionals can quickly find concise and reliable information to meet the majority of their daily reference needs."
- Electric Power Research Institue (EPRI)
This institute "conducts research, development and demonstration (RD&D) relating to the generation, delivery and use of electricity for the benefit of the public."
- Electronic Engineers Master Catalog: EEM
This site states that it is "a comprehensive, online resource of electronics components for engineers and purchasing professionals." It has an "inventory of over 100 authorized distributors offering over 70 million electronic components."
- Electronics Manufacturers
This is an excellent database to search to locate manufacturers of electronics and electrical products.
This site states that it is "The world's most-visited engineering job site."
- Global Electronic Components Datasheet Locator
This site "is a free electronic engineering tool that enables you to locate product datasheets from hundreds of electronic component manufacturers."
- Glossary of Electrical Engineering Terms
This glossary is maintained by Maxim Integrated.
- Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)
- Online Ethics Center at the National Academy of Engineering
This center supports activities that address the "ethically significant issues that arise in engineering and scientific research, education, and practice. These issues arise for individual engineers and scientists as well as for social organizations and institutions." The site is an "electronic repository of resources on science, engineering, and research ethics, for engineers, scientists, scholars, educators, students, and interested citizens."
This award winning site serves as a gateway to scientific and engineering news sources.
This site is "is a free service which can help you find articles, books, the best websites, the latest industry news, job announcements, technical reports, technical data, full text eprints, the latest research, thesis & dissertations, teaching and learning resources and more, in engineering, mathematics and computing." It is sponsored by Heriot Watt University in the UK.
This website "lists products and services, directory information, brand names, and company catalogs."
- Virtual Library: Electrical and Electronics Engineering
"The VL is the oldest catalog of the web." "It is run by a loose confederation of volunteers, who compile pages of key links for particular areas in which they are expert." This site is divided into the following categories: Academic and Research Institutions; Blogs; Information Resources; Journals and Magazines; Products and Services; and Standards.
Contact Caroline directly at Charnly@sfsu.edu or chat with a reference librarian below!
Chat is offline.
Library, Room 216; ext. 81454