This is the "Home" page of the "Census: Demographic information" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
San Francisco State University
Find up-to-date demographic data on people, housing, business and government.
Last Updated: Dec 3, 2013 URL: http://libguides.sfsu.edu/census Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

New American FactFinder Tutorials

 

Census News

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Web resources

  • U.S. Census
    Home page of the U.S. Census Bureau.
  • Random Samplings
    The official blog of the U.S. Census Bureau.
  • American FactFinder
    Use this site to create data sets from the 1990 & 2000 census, the American Community Survey, the Economic Survey, and the latest population estimates.

S.F. Bay Area Census Resources

Historical Census Data

Minority Links

  • California Latino Demographic Databook  
      
    3rd Edition: 2004. A project of the University of California Latino Policy Institute, California Policy Research Center and UC Institute for Mexico and the United States.
  • Minority Links
    Quick and easy links to the latest data on racial and ethnic populations in the United States
  • YouTube: The 2010 Census: Beyond the Numeros
    June 20, 2011: The U.S. Census Bureau and the Association of Hispanic Advertising Agencies (AHAA) hosted a forum about the growth of the Hispanic population. Census Bureau staff presented findings from the 2010 Census and the American Community Survey and a panel of experts discussed a range of issues about the growth of the Latino population in the U.S.
 

House votes to cut American Community Survey, Economic Census

Census Project Releases New Report Documenting National & State Effects of Eliminating ACS

The Census Project recently released a new report of case studies and comments from a wide variety of local and national organizations on the uses of the ACS.  The report, Eliminating America’s Playbook, demonstrates the range of uses of the American Community Survey and the impact of its potential elimination.

From the U.S. Census Bureau:

Last week the House of Representatives passed a bill that contains the Census Bureau’s budget.  We are receiving many questions from the press and stakeholders all across the country.  In an effort to continue to be be responsive to these questions, we are providing editorials from the Wall Street Journal and New York Times, and a blog from the Washington Post.
 
U.S. Census Director's blog and videos: A Future Without Key Social and Economic Statistics for the Country

Links and articles about the House cutting the ACS budget for FY 2013

NY Times: The Beginning of the End of the Census?, May 19, 2012

Washington Post: The American Community Survey is a count worth keeping, May 15, 2012

Stats in Action Videos:
National Association of Home Builders Uses ACS Data

Greater Houston Partnership Uses ACS Data

Target and Economic Statistics

Your Response Makes a Difference for Business Planning

Your Response Make a Difference for Small Business

What is the Census?

A decennial census of the U.S. population has been taken since 1790, as mandated by the U.S. Constitution. The 2010 census was taken starting on April 1, 2010. Census results determine congressional district boundaries, reapportion seats in the House of Representatives, and affect the distribution of federal and state funds.

The Economic Census profiles the national and local economies every 5 years. Data for the 2007 Economic Census was first released on March 17, 2009.

How to find data

Census data can be narrowed down by subject, geography, and year.

Use the American FactFinder to create data sets, maps, and reports from various data products.

Government Shutdown! Where can I find Census information?

"Due to the lapse in government funding, census.gov sites, services, and all online survey collection requests will be unavailable until further notice."

If you need U.S. Census statistics, we've put together some options for finding census information. Thanks to the government information librarians across the country who have contributed to this list!

***************
LIMITED ACCESS TO Social Explorer database! Oct. 4-17/18
Oxford University Press and the Social Explorer team will open up access to Social Explorer<http://www.socialexplorer.com/> - the premier US Census demographics website - for the next two weeks. Social Explorer offers users Census data from 1790 to 2010 and American Community Survey data from 2005 to 2012.

For access to Social Explorer, simply email onlinereference@oup.com<mailto:onlinereference@oup.com> to request a username and password.

****************
From Marie Concannon, Government Documents Regional Coordinator, University of Missouri:
"The Missouri Census Data Center (MCDC) has mirrored quite a lot of Census Bureau data.   Try it -- the American Community Survey Profiles are here: http://mcdc.missouri.edu/acs/profiles/menu.php  All states are in the system - it's not just Missouri.

If you need older data, there's also 1990-2010 data for South Carolina that includes not only Census Bureau figures but also the IRS, the BEA and more.  Go to this page and choose South Carolina from the drop-down menu: http://mcdc1.missouri.edu/cgi-bin/applinks/menu.py?sumlevel=040

For power users, I like the American Community Survey Standard Profile Extract Assistant.  The interface takes some time to learn but once you've mastered it, you can do some amazing data manipulation: http://mcdc.missouri.edu/cgi-bin/broker?_PROGRAM=websas.acsmcdcprofiles_extract_menu.sas&_SERVICE=appdev&st=
"

****************
For California statistics, go the the Demographic Research unit of the California Department of Finance. They have data from the American Community Survey, the 2010 Census, and the 2000 Census.

      

    Government Publications

    Profile Image
    Nina Hagiwara
    Contact Info
    Phone: (415) 405-2517
    Library Office: 420N
    Send Email
    Office Hours:
    By appointment. Email: ninah@sfsu.edu
     

    Books@SFSU


    Measuring America : the decennial censuses from 1790 to 2000 [electronic resource] - [prepared by Jason G. Guthrie]
    Also available in print at Library Annex I Government Desk C 3.2:M 46/2 [9/2002].


    Cover Art
    Census atlas of the United States : Census 2000 special reports [electronic resource] - U.S. Census Bureau
    Also available in print in Library Annex Reference area, G1201.E2 U5 2007

    2010 census : reducing the undercount in the Hispanic community:[electronic resource]
    hearing before the Subcommittee on Information Policy, Census, and National Archives of the Committee on Oversight and Government Reform, House of Representatives, One Hundred Tenth Congress, first session, July 9, 2007.

    Problem of undercount in 1990 census
    Hearing before the Subcommittee on Census and Population of the Committee on Post Office and Civil Service, House of Representatives, One hundredth Congress, first session, July 14, 1987

    Undercount problem in Los Angeles: counting homeless in decennial census:
    hearing before the Subcommittee on Census and Population of the Committee on Post Office and Civil Service, House of Representatives, One hundredth Congress, first session, April 3, 1987.



    Counting the vote : should only U.S. citizens be included in apportioning our elected representatives? : [Electtronic resource]
    hearing before the Subcommittee on Federalism and the Census of the Committee on Government Reform, House of Representatives, One Hundred Ninth Congress, first session, December 6, 2005.

    Cover Art
    Encyclopedia of the United States Census - Margo J. Anderson, editor-in-chief
    Call Number: Reference Collection, 3rd floor HA37.U55 C66 2000

    Cover Art
    Historical Statistics of the States of the United States - Donald B. Dodd (Compiled by)
    ISBN: 0313283095
    Two centuries of the census, 1790-1990
    Also available online through the 'Articles & Databases' link.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip