Databases
These databases are the most useful for locating news sources. Many of them provide access to instant, online full-text of articles or links to the articles.
- News databases Most useful databases for locating news sources
Research Guides
- News and Opinion A guide to the resources in our library that can help you locate news and current political commentary.
- History: Primary Sources A guide to using primary sources in our library, including historical news sources.
- BECA A guide for Broadcast and Electronic Arts (BECA) students: includes Bay Area media links
New Media Sources

Loading Podcast Content...
News on the Web
- The Newseum The Newseum displays daily newspaper front pages in their original, unedited form.
- The New York Times
- The Wall Street Journal
- Bay Area Daily Newspapers Includes information about each newspaper's corporate parent
- SF Gate (San Francisco Chronicle)
- The San Francisco Examiner
- The Oakland Tribune
- San Jose Mercury News
- BeyondChron (alternative daily)
- SF Weekly
- The San Francisco Bay Guardian (weekly)
- East Bay Express (weekly)
- The Potrero View (SF community newspaper)
- The Western Edition (SF community newspaper)
- San Francisco Bay View (SF community newspaper)
- El Tecolote (SF community newspaper)
- New Fillmore (SF community newspaper)
- The Sunset Beacon and the Richmond Review (SF Community Newspapers)
- News and Public Affairs Video From the Internet Archive, downloadable video resources including news and analysis, political speeches and reports. Includes special collections such as the September 11th and Iraq War television archives.
- ABYZ News Links A portal to online news sources from around the world.
- New America Media A national collaboration and advocate of 2000 ethnic news organizations, NAM produces, aggregates and disseminates multimedia content and services from the ethnic media sectors. Contains full-text articles from California ethnic newspapers.
- Foreign Language News From the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, links to online newspapers in Chinese, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Portuguese, Russian and Spanish.
- Voxalead Search multimedia content such as audio and video. Includes television and radio news broadcasts.
- Blinkx World's largest video search engine. Includes news content.
Subject Guide |
Nicole AllensworthOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
J. Paul Leonard Library Annex II
San Francisco State University
1630 Holloway Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94132-4030
(415) 338-6138
Send Email
Subjects:
Law, Journalism & Communication Studies
Office Hours
By Appointment (Tue-Wed-Fri)
![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
J. Paul Leonard Library Annex II
San Francisco State University
1630 Holloway Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94132-4030
(415) 338-6138
Send Email
Subjects:
Law, Journalism & Communication Studies
Office Hours
By Appointment (Tue-Wed-Fri)
Description
Loading content... please wait






Loading content... please wait