Tips
Most primary source material has not been published or made available
online, but is only available in libraries or archives, many of which
are located here in the San Francisco Bay Area. Many libraries and
archives have information on their website regarding the subject areas
in which they have holdings; some will also make finding aids (detailed
descriptions of primary source collections) available. It's always a good idea to call or email ahead of time to ask for information about whether they have collections that would be related to your topic.
Archives at SF State
- DE BELLIS COLLECTION (Italian civilization and Culture) (SFSU Library)
- LABOR ARCHIVES & RESEARCH CENTER (480 Winston Drive, Near Stonestown)
- SPECIAL COLLECTIONS & ARCHIVES DEPARTMENT (SFSU Library); major collections include the San Francisco State College Strike Collection, the Marguerite Archer Collection of Historic Children's Material, and the San Francisco Bay Area Television Archives.
- SUTRO EGYPTIAN MUSEUM (Science 115)
- TREGANZA ANTHROPOLOGY MUSEUM (Science 380)
Archives in the Bay Area
- SAN FRANCISCO PUBLIC LIBRARY: the San Francisco History Center has a strong collection of San Francisco history sources (see also their online Historical Photograph Collection), and the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Archival Collections has a strong collection on San Francisco LBGT history.
- CALIFORNIA ARCHIVAL REPOSITORIES from the California Historical Society.
- REPOSITORIES OF PRIMARY SOURCES: Extensive directory to libraries and archives that hold historic documents worldwide. Browse by state or country.
- UNCOVERING WOMEN'S HISTORY IN ARCHIVAL COLLECTIONS: Extensive directory to libraries and archives that hold historic documents related to women.
Published Directories of Archives
- Ash, Lee and William G. Miller. Subject Collections: A Guide to Special Book Collections and Subject Emphases as Reported by University, College, Public and Special Libraries and Museums in the U. S. and Canada. 7th ed. Rev. and enl. New York: Bowker, 1993. 2 vols.
- U. S. National Historical Publications and Records Commission National Archives and Records Service. Directory of Archives and Manuscript Repositories in the U. S. Washington, D.C.: GPO, 1978.
Librarian |
Kendra Van CleaveContact Info:
Downtown Campus 678C (on SFSU campus by appointment)
kendrav@sfsu.edu
415-405-0997
Send Email
Subjects:
History, Fashion, Costume
Office Hours
By appointment
Downtown Campus 678C (on SFSU campus by appointment)
kendrav@sfsu.edu
415-405-0997
Send Email
Subjects:
History, Fashion, Costume
Office Hours
By appointment
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait