Historical Newspapers/Magazines Online
The SFSU Library has access to many online historical magazines and newspapers. Some of these link directly to individual titles, while others are collections of titles. It's worth looking through the collections of titles, as they may contain anywhere from a few to thousands of different titles.
Getting Titles Not Available Online
1. Double check if we have a copy online.
- Check the list below (Suggested Titles).
- Double check by searching for the newspaper/magazine title in the Electronic Journal List.
2. Check if we have a copy IN the library (bound print copy or microfilm).
2. Order it (free service!) from ILLiad (Document Delivery Services). Free service; takes about 3 days - 3 weeks to get articles.
Suggested Titles - Full Text Online
- AMERICAN PERIODICAL SERIES (1740-1900) Articles from numerous magazines throughout the United States. Browse the list of titles.
- AMERICA'S HISTORICAL NEWSPAPERS, Series I (1690-1876) Articles from numerous newspapers throughout the United States - Midwest & East Coast (no West Coast). Browse the list of titles by clicking on the database, then the Newspaper Titles tab.
- BRITISH LIBRARY ONLINE COLLECTION (mid-19th - early 20th centuries) Four British newspapers: Manchester Guardian, Daily News, News of the World, Weekly Dispatch.
- CALIFORNIA DIGITAL NEWSPAPER COLLECTION (1849-1911) 11 California newspapers, including some very important ones: San Francisco Call (1899-1910), Alta California (1849-1850), and Daily Alta (1850-1890). Browse the list of titles
- CHICAGO DEFENDER [ProQuest Historical Newspapers] (1910-1975) The leading US African American newspaper during its period. Watch a quick video on how to search!
- CHRONICLING AMERICA (1880-1922) Various newspapers from various states including California. Browse the list of titles.
- ECONOMIST HISTORICAL ARCHIVE (1843-2003)
- INTERNET LIBRARY OF EARLY JOURNALS (UK, 18th-19th c.) British magazines, 18th-19th century. Browse the list of titles.
- LONDON TIMES [Times Digital Archive] (1785-1985) THE major British newspaper.
- LOS ANGELES SENTINEL [ProQuest Historical Newspapers] (1934-2005) African American newspaper. Watch a quick video on how to search!
- LOS ANGELES TIMES [ProQuest Historical Newspapers] (1881-1986)
- MAKING OF AMERICA Cornell (1815-1901) 20+ American magazines, including many important titles. Browse the list of titles.
- MAKING OF AMERICA Univ. of Michigan (1831-1901) 10+ American magazines. Browse the list of titles.
- NATION [The Nation Archive] (1865-present)
- NEW YORK TIMES [ProQuest Historical Newspapers] (1851-2005)
- SAN FRANCISCO CHRONICLE [ProQuest Historical Newspapers] (1880-1922) Earlier and later years available IN the Library. Watch a quick how-to-search video!
- TIMES OF LONDON [Times Digital Archive] (1785-1985) THE major British newspaper.
- VIRTUAL LIBRARY OF HISTORICAL NEWSPAPERS (1777-1960s) 1500 historical Spanish-language newspapers. Most are from Spain, but also some from Mexico and other parts of Latin America. Browse the list of titles.
- WALL STREET JOURNAL [ProQuest Historical Newspapers] (1889-1991)
- WASHINGTON POST [ProQuest Historical Newspapers] (1877-1992)
- MORE SUGGESTIONS: NEWSPAPERS Wikipedia maintains a list of online newspaper archives. Many are free, but some may require payment.
- MORE SUGGESTIONS: MAGAZINES Wikipedia maintains a list of online magazine archives. Many are free, but some may require payment.
Other Online Sources
Both of these online databases allow you to search for articles, but they don't have the full text of those articles immediately available.
- 19TH CENTURY MASTERFILE [Poole's Plus] (19th century) Index to articles from magazines & newspapers, plus books published in the 19th century. No full text content - only citations.
- READER'S GUIDE RETROSPECTIVE (1890-1982) Articles from general interest (popular, consumer, news, and literary) magazines. No full text content - only citations.
Librarian |
Kendra Van CleaveDowntown Campus 678C (on SFSU campus by appointment)
kendrav@sfsu.edu
415-405-0997
Send Email
Subjects:
History, Fashion, Costume
Office Hours
By appointment
Quick Research Tutorials
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
How to search these library databases for historic newspapers (primary sources).
Historical Fashion Magazines Online
- Godey's Lady's Book Selected material from 1855-58.
- Harper's Bazar The premier issue of Harper's Bazar (Nov. 2, 1867).
- Journal des Luxus und der Moden German fashion magazine, 1787-1827.
- Modetijdschrift De Gracieuse Dutch fashion magazine, 1862-1936
- L'Officiel de la Mode French fashion magazine, 1921-present.
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait