Quick Research Tutorials
Finding Articles: Basic Searching
How to find articles using the library databases - the basics.
Finding Articles: Improving Your Search
A few quick ways to improve your library database searches.
Search tips
- Use only important words in your search - don't use phrases
- Make options sets as in the following search: (movies or cinema or film) and history and gender
- Experiment! Try different words, and different combinations of words, to see what works best
- Look for advanced search screens, which will allow you to do things like limit your search to articles in English, or focus on a particular date range
More info: Finding Articles guide
Online Article Databases
Websites for finding articles
- Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender: Journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.
- Regesta Imperii Opac: Articles and books on the European Middle Ages in a number of disciplines, including history.
- ViVa: A Bibliography of Women's History in Historical and Women's Studies Journals
Print article indexes
- Cumulative Bibliography of Asian Studies (1941-65): Journal articles, books, essays, and conference proceedings on Asian Studies.
- California Information File (1840s-1985): California newspapers, periodicals, county histories, and biographical encyclopedias, as well as the California State Library's manuscript collections and vertical files.
- C.R.I.S.: The Combined Retrospective Index Set to Journals in History (1838-1974).
Librarian |
Kendra Van CleaveContact Info:
Downtown Campus 678C (on SFSU campus by appointment)
kendrav@sfsu.edu
415-405-0997
Send Email
Subjects:
History, Fashion, Costume
Office Hours
By appointment
Downtown Campus 678C (on SFSU campus by appointment)
kendrav@sfsu.edu
415-405-0997
Send Email
Subjects:
History, Fashion, Costume
Office Hours
By appointment
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait