Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Criminal Justice Resources  Tags: criminal_justice sfsu sf_state san_francisco_state_university j._paul_leonard  

A Library Resources Guide for San Francisco State University Students, Faculty, and Staff in Criminal Justice
Last update: Sep 09th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.sfsu.edu/criminaljustice  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Suggested Websites             Print Page
  

Criminal Justice-related Websites

Internet Resources

Statistics Sites


Bureau of Justice Statistics
http://www.ojp.usdoj.gov/bjs/welcome.html


Crime and Delinquency in California - criminal statistics from the Attorney General's Office.
http://caag.state.ca.us/cjsc/pubs.htm


Federal Justice Statistics Database
Comprehensive information describing suspects and defendants processed in the Federal criminal justice system. The FJSP database is constructed from data files provided by the U.S. Marshals Service, the Drug Enforcement Agency, the Executive Office for U.S. Attorneys, the Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts, the U.S. Sentencing Commission, and the Federal Bureau of Prisons.
http://fjsrc.urban.org/index.cfm


Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
Brings together data from more than 100 sources about all aspects of criminal justice in the United States
http://www.albany.edu/sourcebook/


Uniform Crime Reports [FBI] Also known as Crime in the United States.
Annually provides statistical data on reported crimes: (1) Offenses Known and Clearances by Arrest, (2) Property Stolen and Recovered, (3) Supplementary Homicide Reports, and (4) Police Employee Data.
http://www.fbi.gov/ucr/ucr.htm



Uniform Crime Reports: County Data, 1990-2000
Geospatial & Statistical Data Center, University of Virginia
http://fisher.lib.virginia.edu/collections/stats/crime/


Other Information Sources related to Criminal Justice


California Courts
Website of the Judicial Branch of California.
http://www.courtinfo.ca.gov/


Capital Punishment
Presents characteristics of persons under sentence of death on and of persons executed in a given year.
http://www.ojp.usdoj.gov/bjs/pubalp2.htm#cp


Compendium of Federal Justice Statistics
Presents national-level statistics describing all aspects of processing in the Federal criminal justice system, including investigations by U.S. attorneys, prosecutions and declinations, pretrial release and detention, convictions and acquittals, sentencing, appeals, and correctional populations.
http://www.ojp.usdoj.gov/bjs/pubalp2.htm#cfjs


Correctional Populations in the United States
Presents data on the growing number of persons in the United States under some form of correctional supervision.
http://www.ojp.usdoj.gov/bjs/pubalp2.htm#cpus


Corrections Statistics
Summary data adult correctional populations and the incarceration rate plus links to publications on this subject.
http://www.ojp.usdoj.gov/bjs/correct.htm


Criminal Offenders
Summary data on criminal offenders plus links to publications on this subject.
http://www.ojp.usdoj.gov/bjs/crimoff.htm


Criminal Victimization in the United States
Presents 110 tables with detailed data on major variables measured by the National Crime Victimization Survey. Topics covered include: crimes of violence, crime characteristics, victim-offender relationship, victims' perceptions of substance use by offenders and of offender characteristics, whether crimes were reported to the police and police response time for reported crimes.
http://www.ojp.usdoj.gov/bjs/abstract/cvusst.htm


Departments of Corrections - listed by state.
http://www.corrections.com/links/viewlinks.asp?Cat=30


Expenditure and Employment Statistics
Summary data on governmental criminal justice expenditures plus links to publications on this subject.
http://www.ojp.usdoj.gov/bjs/eande.htm


The Federal Death Penalty System: A Statistical Survey (1988-2000)
Provides information regarding the federal death penalty system since the enactment of the first modern capital punishment statute in 1988. The Survey explains the Department of Justice's internal decision-making process for deciding whether to seek the death penalty in individual cases, and presents statistical information focusing on the racial/ethnic and geographic distribution of defendants and their victims at particular stages of that decision-making process.
http://www.usdoj.gov/dag/pubdoc/dpsurvey.html


Federal Sentencing Statistics
Sentencing data for the Federal courts by circuit and district.
http://www.ussc.gov/linktojp.htm


Hate Crime Statistics
Data on crimes motivated by racial, religious, ethnicity/national-origin, sexual-orientation, and disability bias.
http://www.fbi.gov/ucr/ucr.htm#hate


Hispanic Victims of Violent Crime, 1993-2000
Examines violent crimes committed against Hispanic victims including rape, sexual assault, robbery, aggravated assault, and simple assault. Crime victimizations of Hispanics are compared with those of four non-Hispanic groups: whites, blacks, American Indians, and Asians. Additional findings include 1993-2000 victimization rates by victim characteristics and crime characteristics.
http://www.ojp.usdoj.gov/bjs/abstract/hvvc00.htm


Homicide Trends in the United States
Contains a series of charts that describe homicide patterns and trends in the United States.
http://www.ojp.usdoj.gov/bjs/homicide/homtrnd.htm


Juvenile Justice (National Criminal Justice Reference System)
Links to resources and publications pertaining to juvenile justice.
http://www.ncjrs.gov/app/topics/topic.aspx?topicid=122


Law Enforcement Statistics (Bureau of Justice Statistics)
Summary data with links to publications and databases containing law enforcement datasets.
http://www.ojp.usdoj.gov/bjs/lawenf.htm



Blueprint for how the government will address critical issues surrounding the enforcement of financial crimes, including the financing of terrorist groups.
http://www.treas.gov/offices/enforcement/money_laundering.shtml

 

Prosecution Statistics (Bureau of Justice Statistics)
Summary data plus links to publications on prosecution of criminal offenses.
http://www.ojp.usdoj.gov/bjs/pros.htm


Recidivism of Prisoners Released in 1994
Major study on recidivism. Reports on the rearrest, reconviction, and reincarceration of former inmates who were tracked for 3 years after their release from prisons in 15 States in 1994.
http://www.ojp.usdoj.gov/bjs/abstract/rpr94.htm


San Francisco Crime Statistics by District
http://www.sfgov.org/site/police_index.asp?id=19468


Sourcebook of Federal Sentencing Statistics
Contains descriptive statistics on the application of the federal sentencing guidelines and provides selected district, circuit, and national sentencing data.
http://www.ussc.gov/annrpts.htm


State of California - Criminal Justice Statistics Center
http://ag.ca.gov/cjsc/


Survey of the Federal Death Penalty System
Provides information regarding the federal death penalty system since the enactment of the first modern capital punishment statute in 1988. The Survey explains the Department of Justice's internal decision-making process for deciding whether to seek the death penalty in individual cases, and presents statistical information focusing on the racial/ethnic and geographic distribution of defendants and their victims at particular stages of that decision-making process.
http://www.usdoj.gov/dag/pubdoc/dpsurvey.html


Wiretap Reports
Reports the number of wiretaps each year plus information on arrests and convictions resulting from wiretaps.
http://www.uscourts.gov/library/wiretap.html


Youth Violence: A Report of the Surgeon General
This report views violence from a developmental perspective. It examines the interactions of youths' personal characteristics and the social contexts in which they live-as well as the timing of those interactions-to understand why some young people become involved in violence and some do not.
http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/library/youthviolence/

 

Your Librarian

Profile ImageJeff Rosen
Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
J. Paul Leonard Library
San Francisco State University
1630 Holloway Ave.
San Francisco, CA 94132
(415) 338-1811

Email jrosen@sfsu.edu
Office Hours - By Appointment
Send Email

Subjects:
Reference Services Coordinator - Liaison to Criminal Justice, Labor Studies, Recreation & Leisure Studies, Sociology, Social Work

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait