Finding Audio and VideoFinding BooksFinding items not available at Leonard LibraryFinding Music ScoresFinding Periodicals
Opera Resources
Blues/Soul/Funk/R&BCountry/Folk/AmericanaHip-Hop and RapJazzPunkReggae/Dub/Dancehall/SkaRock
Blues, Soul, R&B FeedsClassical Music FeedsContemporary/Avant Garde/Experimental FeedsHip Hop and Rap FeedsJazz Music FeedsPopular Music FeedsPunk FeedsRock FeedsWorld Music Feeds
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Music  Tags: music classical_music popular_music world_music local internet_sources scores san_francisco san_francisco_state_university sfsu j._paul_leonard music sources african_music latin_american_music sf_state  

This is a newly formatted guide which incorporates Library 2.0 practices. Comments are welcome. This guide will be updated often as I find new resources.
Last update: Nov 18th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.sfsu.edu/Music  Print Guide  RSS Updates

de Bellis/Special Collections             Print Page
  
 

Highlights of the de Bellis Collection

 
 

de Bellis Collection

Frank V. de Bellis Collection

Hours

About

de Bellis Collection

The Frank V. de Bellis Collection in the J. Paul Leonard Library at San Francisco State University is a library-museum of Italian authors and subjects representing the civilization of ancient to modern Italy, particularly in the areas of history, literature, the fine arts and music. 

Note: During the library construction project  slated to take place from Fall 2008-Spring 2011 some materials are available via request in the library catalog, while other materials  will be placed in storage and remain unavailable for the duration of the library construction project.

As a library, the Collection contains manuscripts, incunables (books printed before 1501), rare books, circulating books, periodicals, and music manuscripts and scores.

As a museum, the Collection contains Etruscan, Greek and Roman artifacts and coins, period instruments, wax cylinders, archival recordings, wood blocks, prints, and contemporary artwork.

Services Provided

The de Bellis Collection is open to students, faculty, and the general public. 

  • Research assistance in Italian and English
  • Collection viewing, in-house or through microfilm and photocopying only
  • Indices and bibliographies, such as those for: folio editions, incunable leaves, Italian literature in pre-1800 editions, microfilms, manuscript music, collected vocal music in pre-1820 editions, orchestra scores and parts, prints and drawings, and coins.
  • Borrowing items in the modern editions circulating collection
  • Special Events: concerts and lectures

Collection Information

Archival & Manuscript
  • Manuscripts
  • Music Manuscripts
  • Incunables
  • Recordings
Artifacts
  • Etruscan, Greek & Roman Artifacts
  • Ancient Coins
  • Woodcuts
  • Musical Instruments
Artwork
  • Paintings, Drawings, Prints and Graphic Arts
Audio & Visual Materials
  • Long Playing Records & Compact Discs
  • Music of the Italian Masters Tape Collection
  • Slide Collection
  • Microfilms, Photographs, Postcards
Printed Materials
  • Rare Books
  • Circulating Books
  • Rare Music Scores (incl. Opera and librettos) Not yet available on-line
  • Circulating Music Scores (incl. Opera)
  • Periodicals

About Frank V. de Bellis

Frank V. de Bellis, a long-time resident of San Francisco until his death in 1968, was born in the Apulia region of Italy. He was a business person who devoted most of the last 25 years of his life to philanthropic and educational projects with the purpose of informing and instructing others in the rich heritage of Italy. His radio program "Music of the Italian Masters" and his lectures were part of this effort, as was his sponsorship of free concerts and lectures by eminent Italian chamber ensembles, singers, and scholars.

Mr. de Bellis gathered three important collections of Italian materials: 200 incunables (volumes printed in the 15th century), presented to Southern Methodist University in Dallas in 1961; a collection of 357 archaeological artifacts from Roman and pre-Roman Italy, donated to San Francisco State in 1960; and a large collection of books, manuscripts, music, and recordings donated to the California State University system in 1962 (accepted 1963), permanently located in the J. Paul Leonard Library at San Francisco State University.

Mailing Address

The Frank V. de Bellis Collection,
San Francisco State University, J. Paul Leonard Library,
1630 Holloway Avenue, San Francisco, California, 94132

 
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait