20 Best African Recordings from FACT Magazine
E-Resources for World Music
Go here for the list of databases suggested for World Music. Notice that there are also subcategories for Classical Music,Music Education , and Popular Music.
- Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,650 serials, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. - Ethnic Newswatch
Coverage:1960 -
More than 95,000 articles, editorials and reviews published in approximately 100 ethnic and minority newspapers, magazines and journals published in the United States. - Google Scholar

Provides a simple way to do a broad search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles - International Index to the Performing Arts
IIPA covers nearly all aspects of the world of performing arts. Indexes articles and obituaries appearing in The New York Times and The Washington Post. - JSTOR
JSTOR contains many music related journals, like the Latin American Music Review. - Music Index Online
Topics concerned with every aspect of the classical and popular world of music are carefully categorized and organized according to the framework of an internal Subject List. A broad range of subjects are indexed.
Print resources for World Music
- Black rhythms of Peru : reviving African musical heritage in the Black Pacific / Heidi Carolyn Feldman.
- Ethnomusicology : a contemporary reader / edited by Jennifer C. Post
- Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
- Global minstrels : voices of world music / Elijah Wald
- Hidden faces of ancient Indian song / Solveig McIntosh.
- P'ungmul : South Korean drumming and dance / Nathan Hesselink.
- Palestinian Arab music : a Maqām tradition in practice / Dalia Cohen and Ruth Katz.
- Tangos, milongas and other Latin-American dances : for solo piano / selected and with an introduction and notes by Joseph Smith.
- The Ashgate research companion to Japanese music / edited by Alison McQueen Tokita and David W. Hughes.
- The Brazilian sound : samba, bossa nova, and the popular music of Brazil / Chris McGowan and Ricardo Pessanha.
- World music : the basics / Richard O. Nidel.
- World Music-edited by Simon Broughton
Audio Resources for World Music
These audio resources can be checked out in person at the Media Services counter in HSS 127.
- Abayudaya [sound recording] : music from the Jewish people of Uganda.

- Africa. Zimbabwe [sound recording] : the soul of mbira : traditions of the Shona people.

- Boulevard de l'indépendance [sound recording] / Toumani Diabate's Symmetric Orchestra.

- Burkina Faso [sound recording] : Savannah rhythms.

- Central America [sound recording] / [compiled by Dan Rosenberg].

- China [sound recording].

- Court gamelan [sound recording] : from the Pura Paku Alaman, Jogyakarta.

- Ethiopia [sound recording].

- Kiran Ahluwalia [sound recording].

- Konono No 1 [sound recording].

- Rough guide to world music: Africa & Middle East [sound recording].

- The jasmine isle [sound recording] : gamelan music.

- The music of Afghanistan [sound recording].

- The reggae box [sound recording] : the routes of Jamaican music.

- Virtuoso from Afghanistan [sound recording] / Ustad Mohammad Omar.

Smithsonian Global Sound
A subscription based music streaming service available to current SFSU faculty, staff , and students. It includes the published recordings owned by the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of the legendary Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels. It also includes music recorded around the African continent by Dr. Hugh Tracey for the International Library of African Music (ILAM) at Rhodes University as well as material collected by recordists on the South Asian subcontinent from the Archive Research Centre for Ethnomusicology (ARCE), sponsored by the American Institute for Indian Studies.
Internet Resources for World Music
- EPSA Publishing-Argentina

- Global Music Archive

- Global Rhythm

- Musica Plural-New Brazilian Composers

- National Geographic Music Links

- Scores from Argentinian Composers
A large selection of contemporary music from Argentina, mostly for piano or guitar. - Songlines-World Music magazine

- The Sound of the World

- The Strachwitz Frontera Collection of Mexican and Mexican American Recordings

- World Instrument Gallery
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait