Finding Audio and VideoFinding BooksFinding items not available at Leonard LibraryFinding Music ScoresFinding Periodicals
Opera Resources
Blues/Soul/Funk/R&BCountry/Folk/AmericanaHip-Hop and RapJazzPunkReggae/Dub/Dancehall/SkaRock
Blues, Soul, R&B FeedsClassical Music FeedsContemporary/Avant Garde/Experimental FeedsHip Hop and Rap FeedsJazz Music FeedsPopular Music FeedsPunk FeedsRock FeedsWorld Music Feeds
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Music  Tags: music classical_music popular_music world_music local internet_sources scores san_francisco san_francisco_state_university sfsu j._paul_leonard music sources african_music latin_american_music sf_state  

This is a newly formatted guide which incorporates Library 2.0 practices. Comments are welcome. This guide will be updated often as I find new resources.
Last update: Nov 18th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.sfsu.edu/Music  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Popular Music Sources            Print Page
  

Internet Sources for Popular Music

 

ARChive of Contemporary Music in the New York Times

The ARChive of Contemporary Music has partnered with Columbia University to bring its vast collections of Popular Music materials to the academic sector.

E-Resources for Popular Music

There are many databases besides what you see on this list. These are just the most useful to get you started. Go here for an alphabetical listing of all the electronic databases at the library. You can also go directly to databases by subject.

Go here for the list of databases suggested for Popular Music. Notice that there are also subcategories for Classical Music, Music Education, and World Music.
  • Academic Search Premier  
      
    Academic Search Premier, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,650 serials, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications.
  • Alt_Press Watch  
      
    Alt-PressWatch provides a valuable new source of coverage, viewpoints and perspectives to complement and challenge the coverage of the mainstream media and serves a broad spectrum of subject areas including the arts.
  • Encyclopedia of Popular Music  
      
    Part of the Oxford Publishing family who has brought us Groves Online for many years. This is an addition to our database subscription.
  • Google Scholar  
    Provides a simple way to do a broad search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles.
  • JSTOR  
      
    Contains the full text of over 169 journals available from JSTOR. This collection provides fulltext access to backfiles of primary journals in several scholary disciplines; it does not include the most recent two or three years.
  • Music Index Online  
      
    Topics concerned with every aspect of the classical and popular world of music are carefully categorized and organized according to the framework of an internal Subject List. A broad range of subjects are indexed.
  • Readers Guide Retrospective  
      
    Reader's Guide Retrospective provides citations to articles from general interest magazines published from 1890-1982.
  • Smithsonian Global Sound  
      
    The collection provides educators, students, and interested listeners with an unprecedented variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms.
 

Music Video Links

  • 80's Music Videos-Free Online  
      
    Over 1,000 classic music videos from the 1980's. John Lennon, BauHaus, Joan Jett, Joy Division. Alphabetically listed.
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait