Finding Audio and VideoFinding BooksFinding items not available at Leonard LibraryFinding Music ScoresFinding Periodicals
Opera Resources
Blues/Soul/Funk/R&BCountry/Folk/AmericanaHip-Hop and RapJazzPunkReggae/Dub/Dancehall/SkaRock
Blues, Soul, R&B FeedsClassical Music FeedsContemporary/Avant Garde/Experimental FeedsHip Hop and Rap FeedsJazz Music FeedsPopular Music FeedsPunk FeedsRock FeedsWorld Music Feeds
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Music  Tags: music classical_music popular_music world_music local internet_sources scores san_francisco san_francisco_state_university sfsu j._paul_leonard music sources african_music latin_american_music sf_state  

This is a newly formatted guide which incorporates Library 2.0 practices. Comments are welcome. This guide will be updated often as I find new resources.
Last update: Nov 18th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.sfsu.edu/Music  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Classical Music Resources             Print Page
  

Related Journals

Beethoven Resources at SJSU

Conducting resources

 

Classical Music Databases via Leonard Library

There are many databases besides what you see on this list. These are just the most useful to get you started. Go here for an alphabetical listing of all the electronic databases at the library. You can also go directly to databases by subject.

Go here for the list of databases suggested for Classical Music. Notice that there are also subcategories for Music Education, Popular Music, and World Music.
  • Classical Music Library  
      
    Classical Music Library is a fully searchable classical music resource-a comprehensive database of distinguished classical recordings. It includes tens of thousands of licensed recordings that users can listen to over the Internet.
  • Music Index Online  
      
    Topics concerned with every aspect of the classical and popular world of music are carefully categorized and organized according to the framework of an internal Subject List. A broad range of subjects are indexed.
  • Oxford Online-Formerly Grove Music Online  
      
    This is the newly enhanced version of Grove's Music Databases...some great features just added. Go to the Info button for more details.
  • Proquest Dissertations and Theses  
      
    Coverage:

    1861 - current.

    With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses.
  • RILM Abstracts of Music Literature-Repertoire International de Litterature Musicale  
      
    Citations on international music corresponding to the printed RILM Abstracts of Music Literature. This file is produced by the Repertoire International de Litterature Musicale.
  • RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals  
      
    Treating primary source material, RIPM indexes the content of complete runs of journals, including articles, reviews, news columns, miscellaneous items, surveys of the press, bibliographies, iconography and advertising.
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait