Welcome!
Welcome to the Classical Music LibGuide, your library portal to a wealth of information about Western Classical Music from the Middle Ages to the present. If you're looking for another musical style or subject, check the following other guides:
This LibGuide is a work in progress, and I'm always on the lookout for new resources. If you have suggestions for books, journals, internet sources, or other research materials, or have ideas for improving the LibGuide experience, please email me (jvasche [at] sfsu.edu) and let me know!
More Online Classical Music Resources
- Ad Parnassum
- American Music Center
- ArchiveGrid - Music
- Center for the History of Music Theory and Literature
- College Music Society
- Columbia University Music & Art Sources
- Fanfare Online
- Glossary of Musical Terms
- Gramophone Archive
- Infomine Visual and Performing Arts
- Journal of Film Music
- Library of Congress Performing Arts Encyclopedia
- Library of Congress Performing Arts Reading Room
- RISM
- Shostakovich Archive
- Society for American Music
- The Flying Inkpot
- Yale University Music Resources
Bibliolore
Classical Music Databases via Leonard Library
Go here for the list of databases suggested for Classical Music. Notice that there are also subcategories for Music Education, Popular Music, and World Music.
- Classical Music Library Classical Music Library is a fully searchable classical music resource-a comprehensive database of distinguished classical recordings. It includes tens of thousands of licensed recordings that users can listen to over the Internet.
- Music Index Online Topics concerned with every aspect of the classical and popular world of music are carefully categorized and organized according to the framework of an internal Subject List. A broad range of subjects are indexed.
- Oxford Online-Formerly Grove Music Online This is the newly enhanced version of Grove's Music Databases...some great features just added. Go to the Info button for more details.
- Proquest Dissertations and ThesesCoverage:
1861 - current.
With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. - RILM Abstracts of Music Literature-Repertoire International de Litterature Musicale Citations on international music corresponding to the printed RILM Abstracts of Music Literature. This file is produced by the Repertoire International de Litterature Musicale.
- RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals Treating primary source material, RIPM indexes the content of complete runs of journals, including articles, reviews, news columns, miscellaneous items, surveys of the press, bibliographies, iconography and advertising.
Online Resources and Tools for Writing about Music
- Writing About Music Online Guide
- Citing References (SFSU LibGuide)
- Citing Music Online Guide
- How to write about music : the RILM manual of style / James R. Cowdery, editor; foreword by Carl Skoggard, introduction by Barbara Dobbs Mackenzie.
- Irvine's writing about music / by Demar Irvine ; Reinhard G. Pauly, general editor
- Music in words : a guide to researching and writing about music / Trevor Herbert
- LibXFireFox (web browser) plug-in that allows you to search for items in ourLibrary collections from any web page. It allows you to search for books, articles, and other kinds of research resources in InvestiGator, Google Scholar, WorldCat and elsewhere right from the webpage where you found it (like Amazon, Google and Yahoo, Worldcat, etc.).
- ZoteroFireFox (web browser) plug-in that allows you to collect, manage, and cite your research sources. It lives right where you do your work — in the web browser itself.
Select local music sources
- Braun Music Library-Stanford
- California Bach Society
- Ira F. Brilliant Center for Beethoven Studies-SJSU
- Jean Gray Hargrove Music Library-UCB
- Mills College Center for Contemporary Music
- Other Minds
- San Francisco Ballet
- San Francisco Composers Chamber Orchestra
- San Francisco Conservatory of Music
- San Francisco Early Music Society
- San Francisco Opera
- San Francisco Performing Arts Library and Museum
- San Francisco Public Library-Art/Music/Recreation Division
- San Francisco Symphony
Local Music Organizations
Go out and experience some live music!
- Community Music Center
- Composers, Inc.
- Golden Gate Park Band
- Music Sources - Center for Historically Informed Performance
- Noe Valley Chamber Music
- Other Minds
- Philharmonia Baroque
- Red Poppy Art House
- San Francisco Cabaret Opera
- San Francisco Chamber Orchestra
- San Francisco Contemporary Music Players
- The Prometheus Symphony Orchestra
Classical Music Streaming Audio
There are many places on the internet to find audio streams. The audio providers listed here offer selections of music from across the historical continuum, including many files of artists not found within the library catalog.
- Afrocentric Voices in Classical Music Great African American singers and composers of classical vocal music, including opera, art song, Negro spirituals, and other sacred and secular forms.
- Art of the States
- Avante Garde Project
- Classic Cat
- Composerver
- Electro Acoustic Audio Stream The www.electrocd.com web site offers you the largest selection (over 1100 titles) of electroacoustic music recordings in North America!
- Electro-Music
- Internet Archive
- Last FM
- NPR Radio
- Pandora Music Genome Project
- Piano Society The Piano Society is the largest resource of free classical piano recordings on the Internet.
- Post Classic RadioContemporary/Modern Composers
- Project Gutenberg Audio Project
- RadiOM
- Society of American ComposersYou can stream Discs 1-10 of the ASUC RECORD SERIES
American Society of University Composers - Ubuweb
- WGBH Open Vault
Subject Guide |
Credits
Special thanks to former music librarian Laura Moody for her original creation and contributions to this guide. She is now a librarian at the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. Follow her on Twitter and on her blog.
The Rest is Noise
Loading...



Loading...
