Last Updated: May 22, 2014
The following bibliography is a selective guide to information sources for the Civil Engineering discipline available from SF State's J. Paul Leonard Library. To view the entire research guide, simply click on the Civil Engineering Research Guide link below. The lists of online reference books, recommended databases and selected Internet sites are duplicated following that link.
- Civil Engineer's Handbook of Professional Practice. By Karen Lee Hansen and Kent E. Zenobia
This handbook was published by Wiley in 2011. This "volume outlines best business and professional practices for civil engineers. Topics discussed include professional ethics, the roles of engineers in projects, client relationships and business development, legal aspects of professional practice, and the engineer's relationship to globalization, sustainability and emerging technology."
- Geotechnical Engineering Handbook. Braja M. Das, editor-in-chief
This handbook was published by J. Ross Publishing in 2011. "This handbook on geotechnical engineering is designed for use by geotechnical engineers and professionals in other civil engineering disciplines as a ready reference. It consists of 15 chapters which cover a wide range of topics including engineering properties of soil, site investigation, lateral earth pressure, shallow and deep foundations, slope stability, expansive soil and ground improvement, geosynthetics and environmental geotechnology..."
As you search through a database, develop a list of relevant citations. Click on the yellow "Check for Full Text" icon that can be found with each citation. A new window will pop up and will tell you whether or not you can obtain a copy of the article from the Library (either electronically or in print). If this library does not subscribe to a periodical you need, it may be possible to obtain a photocopy of the article through our Document Delivery Service. For more information, consult the Document Delivery Service’s page on "Requesting Items from Other Libraries" (http://www.library.sfsu.edu/services/requesting/).
- Applied Science & Technology Abstracts, 1913-date
Indexes the core physical and applied science (including engineering) scholarly journals.
- Engineering Village 2
This site provides access to the Compendex database.
- GeoRef, 1785-date
While this database’s primarily goal is to comprehensively index the earth science, paleontological, and paleobiology literature, citations to many relevant civil engineering journal articles may also be located using this database.
- GreenFILE, date varies
This database will be useful to environmental engineering students. It indexes articles on all aspects
of the human impact on the environment. Topics covered include climate change, green building, pollution, renewable energy, recycling, sanitary engineering, sustainable engineering, etc.
- Web of Science Core Collection, 1900-date
This is one of the Web of Science databases. To access this database, type in the words "Web of Science" in the Search for Database Name box. You will get one result. Click on that link. You are now at the home page for all of the Web of Science databases. You now need to use the All Databases pulldown menu, and select Web of Science Core Collection. This database indexes scholarly journals in all disciplines. You may also conduct cited reference searches (that is, search for articles that cite a specific author or article) by changing the pulldown next to the words Basic Search to Cited Reference Search.
- AASHTO [American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials] Subcommittee on Bridges & Structures Website
This site includes links to Internet sites containing information on bridges and other large structures.
- American Concrete Institute
- American Society of Civil Engineers
- dmoz: Open Directory Project: Civil Engineering
This site says the are the "largest, most comprehensive human-edited directory of the Web."
- eFunda: Engineering Fundamentals
"eFunda stands for engineering Fundamentals. Its mission is to create an online destination for the engineering community, where working professionals can quickly find concise and reliable information to meet the majority of their daily reference needs."
This site states that it is "The world's most-visited engineering job site."
This portal states that "is a knowledge portal specially designed for civil engineering professionals and students. It has two goals in mind: 1) collect and catalog valuable civil engineering relevant Internet resources so that people can find information fast; 2) explore how to take advantage of Internet technology to serve the civil engineering community."
- Infomine: Physical Sciences, Engineering, Computing & Math
This site is a collection of "Internet resources relevant to faculty, students, and research staff at the university level" and is built by librarians. Links are provided to useful Internet resources including databases, electronic journals, electronic books, bulletin boards, mailing lists, etc.
- Online Ethics Center at the National Academy of Engineering
This center supports activities that address the "ethically significant issues that arise in engineering and scientific research, education, and practice. These issues arise for individual engineers and scientists as well as for social organizations and institutions." The site is an "electronic repository of resources on science, engineering, and research ethics, for engineers, scientists, scholars, educators, students, and interested citizens."
This is a bibliographic database produced by the MCEER (Multidisciplinary Center for Earthquake Engineering Research) Information Service. It covers earthquakes, earthquake engineering, natural hazard mitigation, and related topics. It includes records for various publication types, such as journal articles, conference papers, technical reports, CD-ROMs, slides and videos. QUAKELINE® was launched in 1987 and is updated on a monthly basis. The database currently provides access to over 44,900 records.
This award winning site serves as a gateway to scientific and engineering news sources.
"For over 60,000 structures from around the world Structurae offers structural, technological, architectural, historic and social information along with over 150,000 images. Search e.g. for bridges, tunnels, dams, skyscrapers as well the engineers and companies involved or products used in their design or construction."
This website "lists products and services, directory information, brand names, and company catalogs."
- Ultimate Civil Engineering Directory
This site is a subdirectory of Tenlinks. It lists the top ten links in a variety of civil engineering sub-disciplines including dams and reservoirs, geotechnical, hydrology, and transportation.
Contact Caroline directly at Charnly@sfsu.edu or chat with a reference librarian below!
Chat is offline.
Library, Room 216; ext. 81454