Get the Chemistry & Biochemistry Research Guide Here
The following bibliography is a selective guide to information sources for the chemistry and biochemistry disciplines available from SF State's J. Paul Leonard Library. To view the entire research guide, simply click on the Chemistry & Biochemistry Research Guide link below. The lists of relevant online reference books, recommended databases, and selected Internet sites are duplicated following that link.
Comments (0)
Online Reference books
- Comprehensive Coordination Chemistry II: From Biology to Nanotechnology. Jon A. McCleverty and Thomas J. Meyer, editors-in-chief. This 10-volume reference work was published by Elsevier Pergamon in 2004.
- Comprehensive Organometallic Chemistry III. D. Michael Mingos and Robert H. Crabtree, editors-in chief. This 13-volume reference work was published by Elsevier in 2007.
- Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry. William J. Lennarz and M. Daniel Lane, editors.This encyclopedia was published in 2004 by Elsevier. It is a compilation of more than 500 different entries encompassing all aspects of biochemistry, as well as the related fields of molecular biology, cell biology, genetics and biophysics. Each entry provides on overview of the topic and the research presently being conducted, as well as providing definitions or relevant terms.
- Encyclopedia of Pollution. By Alexander E. Gates and Robert P. BlauveltThis encyclopedia was published by Facts on File in 2011. It is designed to address all aspects of pollution and the global impact on the environment in a single source. It contains more than 300 entries and essays.
- Handbook of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. Roger L. Lundblad and Fiona M. Macdonald, editorsThe fourth edition of this handbook was published by CRC Press in 2010. Physical and chemical data on amino acids, peptides, proteins, lipids, vitamins, coenzymes, nucleic acids, and carbohydrates is given.
- Handbook of Physical-Chemical Properties and Environmental Fate for Organic Chemicals. By Donald Mackay ... [et al.].The second edition of this handbook was published by CRC/Taylor & Francis in 2006. It serves serves as a reference source for environmentally relevant physical-chemical property data of numerous groups of chemical substances. The handbook contains physical-chemical property data from peer-reviewed journals and other valuable sources on over 1200 chemicals of environmental concern.
Recommended Dababases
- American Chemical Society (ACS) Publications, 1879-dateContains the full text of over 30 journals available from ACS. It is possible to simultaneously search all of the ACS journals.
- Applied Science & Technology Abstracts, 1913-dateThis is an excellent starting point for finding articles from core journals on any chemical or chemical engineering topic except biochemistry.
- Biological Sciences, 1982-dateThis is an excellent database for biochemistry topics. Do NOT be misled by the name of this database. It is THE comprehensive database for biochemistry topics.
- BIOSIS Previews, 1990-dateThis database comprehensively covers the biological literature.
- Chemical Abstracts (SciFinder Scholar), 1907-date The use of SciFinder Scholar is restricted to the students, staff and faculty of SF State. You can search both the CAPlus database and the substructure module.
- Environmental Issues & Policy Index, 1973-dateComprehensively indexes the environmental science journal literature. This database indexes both science and social science articles related to environmental issues.
- Medline, 1966-dateThis database comprehensively covers the medical literature.
- Pubmed, 1951-dateThis is the version of Medline offered by the National Library of Medicine. Note: The SFSU online links only work on campus or if connecting through the campus modem pool.
- SciFinder Scholar (electronic version of Chemical Abstracts), 1907-date This database comprehensively indexes the chemical, biochemical, and chemical engineering literature. In order to use the web version, you need to register and create a username and password using your SFSU email. (Registration link: https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=48814E94-86F3-50AB-194F-F6C8B5DC84B8)
Remember to log off when you finished. We share a user license with other universities. - Web of Science, date variesIndexes scholarly journals in all disciplines. Use this database to conduct cited reference searches (that is, search for articles that cite a specific author or article).
Selected Intermet Sites
- 365: Chemistry for LifeThis site was created by the American Chemical Society as part of the 2011 International Year of Chemistry celebration.
- Atomic Spectra DatabaseOne of the over 80 databases accessible through the NIST Data Gateway (see also that entry). This database "contains data for atom and ion transitions, and energy levels. Lines are included for the first 99 elements in the periodic table. The energy level tables also contain ionization limits. ASD contains data on about 950 spectra."
- BioChemWeb.orgThis site states that is a "virtual library of biochemistry, molecular biology and cell biology." It is divided into the following 19 subject pages: angiogenesis, apoptosis, carbohydrates, cell adhesion & ECM, cell cycle, cell senescence, chemical biology, cytoskeleton & motility, development, enzymes, genes, lipids & membranes, metabolism, microscopy, organelles, proteins, signaling, structural biology, and systems biology."
- ChemDex Index - SheffieldThis site is a directory of links to over 5,000 chemistry resources.
- Chemical Education Digital LibraryThis site is a group of resources, collections, and communities. Resources include: Models 360, Periodic Table Live!, and a Glossary. Collections include: Biographies of Chemists, Featured Molecules, and Living Textbooks. Communities include: Chemistry Laboratories, Inorganic Chemistry, and Physical Chemistry.
- ChemIDplusThis site is produced by the National Library of Medicine and is a database of over "390,000 chemical records, of which over 299,000 include chemical structures, and is searchable by Name, Synonym, CAS Registry Number, Molecular Formula, Classification Code, Locator Code, Structure, Toxicity, and/or Physical properties." It comes in two different versions: Lite and Advanced.
- Chemistry: the website of the American Chemical SocietyThis is the primary ACS site.
- Chemistry Web BookOne of the over 80 databases accessible through the NIST Data Gateway (see also that entry). This database provides access to thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data.
- Classic ChemistryThe principal purpose of this site is to "post the texts of several classic papers from the history of chemistry." In addition, there are also links to classic calculations, to a history of chemistry calendar, and to glossary of archaic chemical terms.
- Eric Weisstein's World of ChemistryThis site is an online chemistry encyclopedia, which is subdivided into the following categories: Chemical Reactions, Experimental Chemistry, Geology, Inorganic Chemistry, Mineralogy, Organic Chemistry, Petrology, and Quantum Chemistry.
- Hazardous Substances Data BankThis data file is maintained by the National Institutes of Health and provides access to information on the toxicity of approximately 5,000 chemical substance or mixtures of substances.
- Links for ChemistsThis site is an index of over 8,400 chemistry resources on the World Wide Web.
- Molecule of the MonthThis site features a new molecule each month. The information provided depends on the contributor, but often there is information on the history of molecule and some bibliographic references. After the name of the featured molecule, there are links to five different viewing formats. To view the information on the molecule, click on your preferred viewing format.
- NIST Data GatewayThe National Institute of Standards & Technology (NIST) provides access at this site to over 80 databases of numeric data. These include the Atomic Spectra Database and the Chemistry Web Book (see those entries for more information about these databases). It is possible to search by keyword, property, and substance name.
- PubChemThis site is a free service consisting of three databases: PubChem Compound, PubChem Substance, and PubChem Bio-Assay. They contain information regarding the chemical structures and the biological activities of small organic molecules.
- U.S. Chemical Safety and Hazard Investigation BoardThis board is an is an "independent federal agency charged with investigating industrial chemical accidents." This site has links to current and past investigations as well as to the recommendations made as a result of these investigations. There are also a number of safety videos available at this site.
- WebElementsThis is the primary site on the World Wide Web for information relating to the periodic table. A scholar edition of this site is available for university students.
- The Wired ChemistThis site has four main divisions: Chemistry, Mineralogy, Environmental and NMR. The four divisions are then subdivided into three sections. The Instructional section under Chemistry links to general chemistry lecture notes, tutorials, problem sets, lab exercises, and animated demonstrations.
Science Librarian |
Contact Caroline directly at Charnly@sfsu.edu or chat with a reference librarian below! JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable. Links: Profile & Guides |



Loading...
